The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by secondregionbug
After a made FT the D reaches over the line and grabs the player with the ball. Is this a technical or intentional foul?
I'm not even sure this is basketball.

T if there's no contact with the player with the ball, intentional if there is.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
He grabs the thrower that is out of bounds after the made FT?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
Can you still run the end line after the foul shot?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by secondregionbug
He grabs the thrower that is out of bounds after the made FT?
Quote:
Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can you still run the end line after the foul shot?
Dude, what are you talking about?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
Read about post
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Read about post?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:48pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Dude, what are you talking about?
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.
In the OP, there was a FT.

If you call the intentional foul, there are FTs.

He did not explain which situation he was asking about.

And I have no idea what the other question was about.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:08pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
In the OP, there was a [made] FT.
Yes, and then B takes the ball OOB...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
If you call the intentional foul, there are FTs.
Yes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
He did not explain which situation he was asking about.
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.

No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.
Thanks Gimlet. That's been bugging Jughead the entire thread.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:55pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.
Good to know! I never knew that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Thanks Gimlet. That's been bugging Jughead the entire thread.
What bugs me is I never got any royalties from....

__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 04:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.
Correct. That was a rule change in the 2004-05 season when the word "common" was added to 7-5-7.
Here is the current case book play:

7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-4b)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: jacksonville florida
Posts: 21
According to the book, no question it is an intentional foul, but there will be someone that literally interprets this and puts common sense aside.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by atcref
... but there will be someone that literally interprets this and puts common sense aside.
I'm not sure what you're saying above.

I only know that you said "if you think the action is intentional then it is an intentional foul." That was incorrect.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Jan 23, 2008 at 09:54pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional technical Cheryl P Basketball 13 Tue Nov 01, 2005 07:06am
6 Technical fouls and an intentional foul jritchie Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2005 09:20am
Technical, Flagrant and Intentional Fouls Bizket786 Basketball 8 Sat Dec 18, 2004 06:01am
Intentional - but then a flagrant or a technical? TXMATTHEW05 Basketball 3 Sun Mar 03, 2002 06:54am
Technical or Intentional? Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 3 Thu Nov 25, 1999 02:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1