![]() |
When does the count end?
When does a 5 second and 10 second count end?
1. At the release of the pass by the passer or 2. When the pass is legally touched on an inbounds pass or touched in the frontcourt |
For an inbounds pass, the 5 second count ends on the release by the inbounder.
For a pass from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10 second count ends when the ball strikes something with frontcourt status, thus giving the ball frontcourt status (or the ball goes oob). The 10 second count ends when the ball achieves frontcourt status either by pass or by the dibbler getting both feet and the ball in the frontcourt. Edited: Also the 10 second count begins when the ball is controled in backcourt. The clock should be started (chopped) when the ball is touched legally inbounds. |
Quote:
|
Vanna can I buy and "R"?
Dribbler! (with apologies to the famous Jon Diebler). ;) |
Quote:
Hey - notice all the smiley faces. |
Maybe I should just give up on this thread. :p
|
Quote:
Again - note all the smiley faces. We're all just fiends here, er, I mean friends. |
Quote:
The actual answer is both. During a throwin, it's 1. During a backcourt count, it's 2. |
Just curious how many have called the 10-second violation when the ball is in the air over the frontcourt, but has not yet attained FC status.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
2) At the end of 10 seconds. We're always here for ya. |
Without reading ahead...
Quote:
A 10-second count in the back court ends when the ball is touched by a player in the front-court. |
Quote:
Methinks you might want to sneak a peek at case book play 9.8SitB. Or alternatively, maybe you can call it using advantage/disadvantage.:) |
Old IAABO Refresher Exam Question
I seem to remember an IAABO Refresher Exam question, from about ten or fifteen years ago, that had a very unusual question. Please don't make me look back at all my old exams to find the correct wording of the question, and answer, but I went something like this.
During a designated spot throwin in the back court by A-1, the short pass just bounces on the court, in the backcourt, untouched by anyone for ...... I don't remember the rest of the question, but I remember that the question was silly because, in a real game, about nine players would be trying to get their hands on the ball as soon as possible. The Exam came after the NFHS changed from the five second count ending on the catch of the throwin, to the release of the throwin. Do any IAABO members remember this question, its wording, or the given answer? By the rules, in a hypothetical situation, what happens if nobody wants to pick up that ball. The thrower hasn't violated because the ball has been released in less than five seconds. The clock hasn't started, because it hasn't been touched inbounds. A ten second count hasn't started because there is no team control established. Hypothetically, by NFHS rules, how long can that ball stay there on the court? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am. |