![]() |
If he's considered 'bench personnel' at that point, does the technical foul still give him a personal/team foul?
|
Yes, just as it would if, during the game, one of the bench players swore at the officials. It's a technical directly on that player, and it counts towards total player fouls, player technical fouls, and team fouls for the half. It's also assessed indirectly to the head coach.
|
But, a T on asst coach, scorekeeper, or head coach, etc.... does not count as team foul. Correct? Thanks!
|
Quote:
|
Dead Ball Dunk
Quote:
Small college game. Springfield at Southern Connecticut State College. Southern just barely wins. After the buzzer sounds to end the game, a Southern player dunks the ball in celebration. Official calls a technical foul. Springfield makes the foul shot(s), sending the game into overtime, which is finally won by Springfield. Is there a moral to this story? At the buzzer, make eye contact with the table to make sure that everything is alright, and get out of the gym as soon as possible. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) coaches out on the floor or at the table. 2) coaches trying to officiate instead of sticking to coaching. 3) officials who ignore coaches who are out on the floor, at the table or telling them how to do their job. Jmo. |
Quote:
|
Sorry, I didn't state in my earlier post that I did seat the coach, which he understood. My point was that it's one of those rule situations where the letter of the rule just doesn't feel right, that's all. I wish we could use the intent of rules more than just words on the page when that makes the most sense for the context of that game.
I guess I don't like being such a robot when I referee, others may find that easier, opinions vary. |
Quote:
Here's yet another recent NFHS interp explicitly stating their intent: 2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 4: The horn sounds to end the third quarter. As the teams are heading to their respective benches, team members A1 and B1 verbally taunt one another. RULING: Double technical foul charged to A1 and B1. During the intermission between quarters, all team members are bench personnel. Both head coaches are indirectly charged with technical fouls and lose their coaching box privileges. Play will resume at the point of interruption, which is an alternating-possession arrow throw-in to begin the fourth quarter. (4-34-2; 10-4-1c Penalty) |
Fair enough...I appreciate the rule reference.
Why do they stop there? Why not seatbelt a coach for a technical by a "live" (non-bench) player? It's still the coach's job to control his kids, right? Maybe I would like it more if the outcome of a player technical had consistent coaching ramifications. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm. |