![]() |
When to shoot T ???
Team A is going to the basket as time expires for the first half...Shoots lay up, misses...want foul...no foul..time is expired...picks up ball after time is expired...slams ball...I call a T...do we shoot right there...or when we return to start 3rd qtr???? Thanks in advance
|
shoot to start 3rd quarter
|
Because??
Time had expired???
|
Yes, the T occurred after time had expired so you will shoot to begin the third quarter and give that team the ball. The posession arrow will not change until the next JB. It's no different than time having expired, the HC says something to you while you are at the table switching arrow etc. Time has expired in that period.
|
Quote:
Anything that happens after the quarter has ended is administered to start the following quarter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
correct - because it's always there!:D |
Quote:
The T occurred after the quarter had ended, so you will shoot to begin the third quarter. The quarter can end quite some time after the time expires (although in this instance they were the same). |
Quote:
|
Good point..Thanks
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
You are entitled to your opinion, but know that the NFHS disagrees. 10.3.4 SITUATION E: Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the horn sounds to end the first half. Shortly after the horn sounds, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach since A1 is considered bench personnel. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged. (4-34-2; 5-6-2 Exception 4) |
Quote:
Its still the coaches responsibility to coach his kids. If this situation has never happened to him before, his kid gets whacked, and he looses his box, well I guarantee you he will teach his kids accordingly. (They need to know that there are consequences for their actions even after the quarter/game has ended.) Its not our responsibility to consider fairness to the coach. The kid is @ fault not the official. By not enforcing the loss of the coaching box you set up your fellow officials for failure. If down the road the same thing happens and the officials on that game administer the entire penalty correctly then the coach is going to question them on the validity of their actions!!! There's really nothing for us to consider as far as intent goes. Did the players actions require a "T"? Yes! Were they bench personnel? Yes! Charged indirectly to the coach and he loses his box. (Losing the box is part of the penalty. We can't arbitrarily decide to set any or part of a penalty aside because we don't agree with it.) The officials didn't do nothing wrong the player did. |
If he's considered 'bench personnel' at that point, does the technical foul still give him a personal/team foul?
|
Yes, just as it would if, during the game, one of the bench players swore at the officials. It's a technical directly on that player, and it counts towards total player fouls, player technical fouls, and team fouls for the half. It's also assessed indirectly to the head coach.
|
But, a T on asst coach, scorekeeper, or head coach, etc.... does not count as team foul. Correct? Thanks!
|
Quote:
|
Dead Ball Dunk
Quote:
Small college game. Springfield at Southern Connecticut State College. Southern just barely wins. After the buzzer sounds to end the game, a Southern player dunks the ball in celebration. Official calls a technical foul. Springfield makes the foul shot(s), sending the game into overtime, which is finally won by Springfield. Is there a moral to this story? At the buzzer, make eye contact with the table to make sure that everything is alright, and get out of the gym as soon as possible. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) coaches out on the floor or at the table. 2) coaches trying to officiate instead of sticking to coaching. 3) officials who ignore coaches who are out on the floor, at the table or telling them how to do their job. Jmo. |
Quote:
|
Sorry, I didn't state in my earlier post that I did seat the coach, which he understood. My point was that it's one of those rule situations where the letter of the rule just doesn't feel right, that's all. I wish we could use the intent of rules more than just words on the page when that makes the most sense for the context of that game.
I guess I don't like being such a robot when I referee, others may find that easier, opinions vary. |
Quote:
Here's yet another recent NFHS interp explicitly stating their intent: 2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 4: The horn sounds to end the third quarter. As the teams are heading to their respective benches, team members A1 and B1 verbally taunt one another. RULING: Double technical foul charged to A1 and B1. During the intermission between quarters, all team members are bench personnel. Both head coaches are indirectly charged with technical fouls and lose their coaching box privileges. Play will resume at the point of interruption, which is an alternating-possession arrow throw-in to begin the fourth quarter. (4-34-2; 10-4-1c Penalty) |
Fair enough...I appreciate the rule reference.
Why do they stop there? Why not seatbelt a coach for a technical by a "live" (non-bench) player? It's still the coach's job to control his kids, right? Maybe I would like it more if the outcome of a player technical had consistent coaching ramifications. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm. |