The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref
Reference, please, for requirement that a person with LGP needs to fall over for there to be a disadvantage.
There isn't one. But, it's a given in the OP that there was no disadvantage. So, there can't be a personal foul.

If you want to cahnge the play to say "Large B1 has LGP and is run into by small A2 casuing (insert disadvantage here) but B1 doesn't fall down", then I agree with your call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Sorry, I edited my post while you were replying it seems. I dont see the OP saying there was no advantage/disadvantage. I see him struggling with whether or not there was. Ad/Disad can come from lots of things.

Please see my additional comments above. We are probably coming close to saying the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref
Sorry, I edited my post while you were replying it seems. I dont see the OP saying there was no advantage/disadvantage. I see him struggling with whether or not there was. Ad/Disad can come from lots of things.

Please see my additional comments above. We are probably coming close to saying the same thing.
I would not say that the defender was put at a disadvantage, she really didn't move....like I mentioned, the only disadvantage would have occurred if one of A's teammates recovered the loose ball under the basket and shot a layup when B1 was in great position and made a good play...BUT I realize that this is not the way that we call advantage/disadvantage, it only applies to the actual play, not subsequent action...again the thing that bothered me is that B1 COULD have just flopped in this case and there would have been more than enough contact for any official to call the PC foul - it is almost like we penalize her for NOT flopping....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 11:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
it is almost like we penalize her for NOT flopping....
How? She did her job, right? She stopped the dribbler. She wasn't hurt. She wasn't put at a disadvantage. She isn't punished.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
How? She did her job, right? She stopped the dribbler. She wasn't hurt. She wasn't put at a disadvantage. She isn't punished.
Right, but had she thought to go down she would have done all of the things you mentioned AND she would have drawn a foul on A1, a team foul on A, and guaranteed posession for her team....again, I agree that after further consideration I probably would not call this the next time, but it doesn't sit 100% right with me...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 11:52am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Forget about the advantages of actually getting the foul called.

It's like when the pg gets hacked on the elbow on his way by the defender. Let it go, because there was no advantage gained. You're not penalizing the guard for not losing the ball.

Forget about the fact that the foul call is itself an advantage. It's not. It's a penalty for advantage already gained.

And just because there's contact prior to the flop doesn't guarantee the foul will be called. Over time, officials get good at recognizing this (not perfect, but good.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells

Forget about the fact that the foul call is itself an advantage. It's not. It's a penalty for advantage already gained.
This is exactly the correct way to think about this...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Right, but had she thought to go down she would have done all of the things you mentioned AND she would have drawn a foul on A1,
If she has to *think* to go down, then it's a flop, and I'd still have nothing.

(I'm not saying I haven't been fooled on a similar play, or that I won't be fooled again -- but I've also seen the flop and had the no-call -- even with contact.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If she has to *think* to go down, then it's a flop, and I'd still have nothing.

(I'm not saying I haven't been fooled on a similar play, or that I won't be fooled again -- but I've also seen the flop and had the no-call -- even with contact.)
Yeah but believe me when I tell you that you wouldn't have had a flop on this one given the severity of the contact....but I understand your point...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1