![]() |
|
|||
PC or nothing?
A1 drives down the lane and slams into B1 who has LGP. B1, however, is considerably larger than A1 and the contact does not budge B1, while A1 goes flying and the loses control of the ball...I come out with a PC foul, but after thinking about it further in an advantage/disadvantage context I am wondering if the correct call there is no call....I have been to several camps where clinicians would say I am sure that if there is that kind of contact you must have a foul, but B1 was not necessarily put at a disadvantage by the contact, and there was no way I could have a block on the play...thoughts?
|
|
|||
I have been taught - Spud Web sized individual charges down the court at full speed and runs into Shaq sized person who has been standing in the key. Shaq doesn't move, Spud goes flying....whatya got?
Charge? Spud didn't create an advantage? Block? Shaq had LGP and didn't move! Same scenario.....yes? Got nuttin.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
kb, I think I've got a player control foul like you had.
And, like you, I probably agonize over whether or not I should have passed on it. But in the end, the rules are the rules. You cant say "oh, he's big, so no foul" just like you can't say "oh, he's short, so we gotta find something." If, as you describe, the guard SLAMS into a defender with LGP, thats a player control foul. And, as others have noted, the fact the defender doesnt fall over isnt the only way an advantage could be gained. Plus, you cant penalize the big guy for being big. He got the position, as the rules say. He drew the charge, as the rules say. Make the call. I understand why you are agonizing over it. But dont. Last edited by cdaref; Fri Dec 28, 2007 at 04:31pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
That's not the only criteria for a foul, of course, but if the other elements are there ... |
|
|||
Quote:
After all, "the rules are the rules" |
|
|||
Reference, please, for requirement that a person with LGP needs to fall over for there to be a disadvantage.
Plus, I dont see the OP saying the defense was not put at a disadvantage. I see the OP saying that he was wondering about whether there was or was not an advantage or disadvantage. He certainly doesnt say in his post: "there was no advantage or disadvantage." What he says is B1 had LGP and ballhandler A1 "slams" into B1, A1 goes flying and loses the ball. Also please note that I am not mandating a PC call there. I am saying it is a tight one and that I likely would have had a PC call. I am saying I would reward the defender for LGP and then getting "slammed" into. Last edited by cdaref; Fri Dec 28, 2007 at 05:17pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you want to cahnge the play to say "Large B1 has LGP and is run into by small A2 casuing (insert disadvantage here) but B1 doesn't fall down", then I agree with your call. |
|
|||
Sorry, I edited my post while you were replying it seems. I dont see the OP saying there was no advantage/disadvantage. I see him struggling with whether or not there was. Ad/Disad can come from lots of things.
Please see my additional comments above. We are probably coming close to saying the same thing. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|