The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
4-23

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
LGP...

Legal guarding pos..

He was sliding over to establish it.. but was still moving although to his side.. he was not initiating contact but was trying to slide in front of the offensive player to get the call.

Again if it wasn't for the elbow I probly would have called the block...
PLEEEZE familiarize yourself with the concepts set forth in this rule. I am thoroughly disgusted at officials who can't recognize the difference between OBTAINING and MAINTAINING LGP

RULE 4 SECTION 23 GUARDING
ART. 1 . . . Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.

ART. 2 . . . To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.
ART. 3 . . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status.
b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane.
e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
PLEEEZE familiarize yourself with the concepts set forth in this rule. I am thoroughly disgusted at officials who can't recognize the difference between OBTAINING and MAINTAINING LGP

RULE 4 SECTION 23 GUARDING
ART. 1 . . . Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.

ART. 2 . . . To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.
ART. 3 . . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status.
b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane.
e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.

Thats what I said.. he was not set.. he was sliding over.. hence both feet were not on the floor. He had not yet initially obtained the pos.

..... but.... the contact was initiated by the OFFESIVE PLAYER lifting his elbow into the chest of the defensive player. 2 inches higher it would have been the def players throat.
__________________
I have heard more resumes in the last 3 months then in the first 27 years I've been on this planet.

Coach.. I dont care if you coached in the ncaa.. this is a 7th grade girls traveling team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Thats what I said.. he was not set.. he was sliding over.. hence both feet were not on the floor. He had not yet initially obtained the pos.
Assuming you were 'refereeing the defense', try to look back on this episode and see if the defender stood facing the ballhandler at any time during the play.
He has therefore OBTAINED LGP and earned the privilege to MAINTAIN LGP by moving as the rules allow. He does not need to emulate a statue with his feet nailed to the floor once he established LGP. If he had jumped in the air within his vertical space and gets plowed by the ballhandler do you have a block cause 'he was not set'? What if he leans backward to lessen the imminent contact? So long as be beats the offense to the spot and is not moving toward the offensive player, contact sufficient to disadvantage the defender warrants a PC call.
Stop being so defensive and try to enlarge your awareness of this chain of events and how to call it properly
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Fri Dec 21, 2007 at 12:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
Assuming you were 'refereeing the defense', try to look back on this episode and see if the defender stood facing the ballhandler at any time during the play.
He has therefore OBTAINED LGP and earned the privilege to MAINTAIN LGP by moving as the rules allow. He does not need to emulate a statue with his feet nailed to the floor once he established LGP. If he had jumped in the air within his vertical space and gets plowed by the ballhandler do you have a block cause 'he was not set'? What is he leans backward to lessen the imminent contact? So long as be beats the offense to the spot and is not moving toward the offensive player, contact sufficient to disadvantage the defender warrants a PC call.
Stop being so defensive and try to enlarge your awareness of this chain of events.
Not trying to be defensive. Trying to explain what I saw.

Def was initially facing another player. He turned and slid over to try to establish LGP. He IMO had not done so yet. Yes he was facing the ball handler, but he slid over in front of an already moving ball handler and had not set LGP. That why I was going to call a block.

That however became moot when the offensive player used his elbow to clear said def player out of his way. 4-25-7
__________________
I have heard more resumes in the last 3 months then in the first 27 years I've been on this planet.

Coach.. I dont care if you coached in the ncaa.. this is a 7th grade girls traveling team.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Let's try again.....

Bearfan, you have lucidly described the sequence of events but your misapprehension of the definitions in 4-23 are impairing your ability to make the correct call. Think of it this way.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Yes he was facing the ball handler,
Assuming he was inbounds and had feet on floor, does this not constitute INITIAL LGP? then

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
he slid over in front of an (already moving -this is immaterial) ball handler
So long as he was sliding sideways and not toward the ball handler, and reached his spot on the floor first, this is a legally condoned motion to maintain his LGP. Elbow to the throat notwithstanding, if illegal contact results in displacement of the defender, this is PC foul in my book.

Sorry for making you my designated whipping boy, nothing personal intended
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Fri Dec 21, 2007 at 02:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
Bearfan, you have lucidly described the sequence of events but your misapprehension of the definitions in 4-23 are impairing your ability to make the correct call. Think of it this way.....


Assuming he was inbounds and had feet on floor, does this not constitute INITIAL LGP? then


So long as he was sliding sideways and not toward the ball handler, and reached his spot on the floor first, this is a legally condoned motion to maintain his LGP. Elbow to the throat notwithstanding, if illegal contact results in displacement of the defender, this is PC foul in my book.

Sorry for making you my designated whipping boy, nothing personal intended

Nothing personal taken.. it was a fast play even for ms. shuffling may not have been the right description either... I just have a hard time describing it. Point being that I was SURE that he was not in LGP, but it became a moot point anyway.

He was trying to establish LGP but he was late getting there.
__________________
I have heard more resumes in the last 3 months then in the first 27 years I've been on this planet.

Coach.. I dont care if you coached in the ncaa.. this is a 7th grade girls traveling team.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
"Bearfan, you have lucidly described the sequence of events but your misapprehension of the definitions in 4-23 are impairing your ability to make the correct call. Think of it this way....."

Coach.......He's 180 from being lucid, as he posted, that's where your frustration started with the description of the play.

Last edited by fullor30; Fri Dec 21, 2007 at 04:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Beating my head against the wall.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Nothing personal taken.. it was a fast play even for ms. shuffling may not have been the right description either... I just have a hard time describing it. Point being that I was SURE that he was not in LGP, but it became a moot point anyway.

He was trying to establish LGP but he was late getting there.
He was in LGP AS SOON AS HE FACED THE BALLHANDLER
HE KEPT LGP AS HE WAS SLIDING

Go write on the blackboard 100 times "4.23 Establish first, then maintain"

Maybe then it will sink in.

Bye Bye, enjoy your MS schedule
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
"PLEEEZE familiarize yourself with the concepts set forth in this rule. I am thoroughly disgusted at officials who can't recognize the difference between OBTAINING and MAINTAINING LGP"


"Stop being so defensive and try to enlarge your awareness of this chain of events".

Coach................ a little crisp today? He's a relatively new official who comes here for improvement and to learn something. Try offering your solutions sans the editorial comment.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
"PLEEEZE familiarize yourself with the concepts set forth in this rule. I am thoroughly disgusted at officials who can't recognize the difference between OBTAINING and MAINTAINING LGP"


"Stop being so defensive and try to enlarge your awareness of this chain of events".

Coach................ a little crisp today? He's a relatively new official who comes here for improvement and to learn something. Try offering your solutions sans the editorial comment.
Fullor30:
Formerly a coach, took a pay cut to become an official!!!!
On a crusade against officials who constantly kick this call because they fail to grasp that the simple requirements for establishing LGP, ie;feet on floor and inbounds(4-23-2 a&b), are preliminary to, and separate from, the movements allowed to maintain LGP (4-23-3 a thru e) and they have to be considered in their individual contexts and timeframes.
I am really tired of officials who cannot escape the playground vernacular of "He was moving" or "He was not set"
I am convinced that a significant percentage of our officiating brethren still operate on this bogus interpretation and routinely penalize the defense.
/off soapbox
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
Fullor30:
Formerly a coach, took a pay cut to become an official!!!!
On a crusade against officials who constantly kick this call because they fail to grasp that the simple requirements for establishing LGP, ie;feet on floor and inbounds(4-23-2 a&b), are preliminary to, and separate from, the movements allowed to maintain LGP (4-23-3 a thru e) and they have to be considered in their individual contexts and timeframes.
I am really tired of officials who cannot escape the playground vernacular of "He was moving" or "He was not set"
I am convinced that a significant percentage of our officiating brethren still operate on this bogus interpretation and routinely penalize the defense.
/off soapbox

Yes.. Understandable.. but.. the defender never got both feet on the floor to initially establish LGP. Therefor he had on right to maintain it by shuffling if he never established it in the first place.
__________________
I have heard more resumes in the last 3 months then in the first 27 years I've been on this planet.

Coach.. I dont care if you coached in the ncaa.. this is a 7th grade girls traveling team.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 02:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Yes.. Understandable.. but.. the defender never got both feet on the floor to initially establish LGP. Therefor he had on right to maintain it by shuffling if he never established it in the first place.
I think part of the problem was your use of the word "set." That's fanspeak, and normally indicative of a misunderstanding of the rules. Nothing says he has to be "set." He can even be moving and establish LGP at the same time, as long as he's facing the opponent with both feet on the floor for even a split second.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Yes.. Understandable.. but.. the defender never got both feet on the floor to initially establish LGP. Therefor he had on right to maintain it by shuffling if he never established it in the first place.
Note that if a player is backpeddling or shuffling, it is almost certain that they had both feet on the floor at the same time at some point in time. Try it. It is HARD to get both feet off the floor in either of these types of movements unless you really try. There is no requirement that both feet be "planted" on the floor but merely that they be touching the floor...even if it is only a brief moment.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
Fullor30:
Formerly a coach, took a pay cut to become an official!!!!
On a crusade against officials who constantly kick this call because they fail to grasp that the simple requirements for establishing LGP, ie;feet on floor and inbounds(4-23-2 a&b), are preliminary to, and separate from, the movements allowed to maintain LGP (4-23-3 a thru e) and they have to be considered in their individual contexts and timeframes.
I am really tired of officials who cannot escape the playground vernacular of "He was moving" or "He was not set"
I am convinced that a significant percentage of our officiating brethren still operate on this bogus interpretation and routinely penalize the defense.
/off soapbox

Try not to be too tired with the new guys, we were all there at some point.

Learning every day.

Last edited by fullor30; Fri Dec 21, 2007 at 02:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Try not to be too tired with the new guys, we were all there at some point.

Learning every day.
Also wanted to reference your previous post also . I do other sports and utilize other forums. Had a coach go off on me over there. Still read that forum but definetly don't put myself out there. Not because I'm all touchy feely like I'm from Oregon or something but got tired of him chasing me around the Net......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay of Game - College(M or W) Almost Always Right Basketball 5 Sun Nov 12, 2006 04:28am
first college game Illinois blue Softball 8 Fri Mar 24, 2006 03:29am
College game needs more offense?? emaxos Softball 18 Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:51am
First Men's College game Larks Basketball 13 Thu Jan 15, 2004 02:40pm
First ever college game Jay R Basketball 9 Sun Oct 19, 2003 09:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1