The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member

on a positive note...

I got a call from my assignor this evening. He was in a tough spot, as an official in our associations wife had just gone into labor, and the official had to back out at the last minute. So he called me, asking if I could possibly make it to the game. I'm new in the association, and figured I could cancel my movie plans, and go help him out.

It was a church league. First game of their season, and it has been somewhat notorious for bad sportsmanship. The kids are high school aged, and the coaches have been notoriously bad sportsmen. I had heard about this league, but once again, I figured I'd give it a shot.

I showed up at the gym with my partner. We found the site coordinator, and he directed us to a room where we could hang out until the game got started. We got to the room, and he explained to us that he was in charge of the league this year, and while he understood there had been problems in previous years, he was working to improve sportsmanship.

My partner and I took it pretty lightly, figuring something as atrocious as had been going on couldn't be fixed in one off-season. Boy were we wrong!