The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2000, 05:35pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

As Tim said, this is not a violation. While waiting for my game to start, I saw a similar play. The official did not call a violation, but I think there should have been one.

After a made basket by team A, B1 went to take the ball OOB on the endline. B2 was standing just inside the line on the court. B2 said "I'll take it" and started to step OOB. After one of B2's feet stepped OOB, B1 flipped the ball toward him. The ball hit B2 on the shoulder and caromed inbounds. The official did not blow his whistle. All of this happened easily within 5 seconds.

However, I thought it was a violation for the following reason:

Even though B1 never released the ball toward the court and B2 was OOB when the pass hit him, which is legal in this case, no one on team B ever released the ball directly toward the court.

Unfortunately, I was not able to discuss this with the official after his game.

Opinions please.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1