The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
In one of your responses above, you state "That is not near the endline as the rules require." Please state your rule(s) reference for this statement.

Now - as to the ball "being at the disposal" phrase, to use the logic implied in your post here, not considering the ball to be "at the disposal" due to its distance from the endline, then it would follow that if the ball just came out of the basket and it just lay there with no one touching it or picking it up, you would never start your 5 second count. You know that cannot be.
The wording of 6.1.2B "Comment" says it is the throw-in teams responsibility to secure the ball if it is near the endline.

6.1.2B also has this juicy sentence, "If the covering official judges the ball to be at the thrower's disposal, he/she starts the count and the ball becomes live."

As, I added to my post above, it makes no sense to have a live ball IB on the court for a throw-in: Can the defense pick it up (it is past the plane)?

Now, if a team does ignore an IB ball (near the end-line), I will place the ball OOB and start counting. If it is an attempt to delay (say to run out the clock), I will T them for delay.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1