The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40355-backcourt-violation.html)

TimTaylor Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

Think of it this way:
You are where you are until you get where you're going.

The location of an airborne player is determined by where they last touched the court before becoming airborne. There are 3 elements to a BC violation, team control, last touched in front court by team with control, first touched in back court by team with control. In the case presented, team control by A was clearly established, the ball gained front court status when caught by A2 in front court, was last touched in front court by A2 when they passed it back to A1, and first touched in back court by A1 who still had back court status. Hence all 3 elements are satisfied & you have a BC violation.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

Probably because he had one of his kids called for it once and, wait for it..... misunderstood the explanation.

just another ref Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor
There are 3 elements to a BC violation, team control, last touched in front court by team with control, first touched in back court by team with control.



Actually, first touched by team in control after gaining backcourt status. It is not necessary that the actual touch be in the backcourt.

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation, expecting a big negative reaction from the coach, but there was none.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Actually, first touched by team in control after gaining backcourt status. It is not necessary that the actual touch be in the backcourt.

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation...

Excellent situation and clarification!

So it didn't matter that it was the same player who picked it up? If her teammate would've touched it first, it was still a BC violation?

bob jenkins Fri Dec 14, 2007 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
Excellent situation and clarification!

So it didn't matter that it was the same player who picked it up? If her teammate would've touched it first, it was still a BC violation?

Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

What if there's a 15-pt no press rule in effect? :rolleyes:

CoachP Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
[/COLOR]

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation, expecting a big negative reaction from the coach, but there was none.

HTBT but, I would have played the "she was falling and didn't have control of the ball yet" card. :D

If she would have fell WITH the ball, I would have accepted a travel.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
HTBT but, I would have played the "she was falling and didn't have control of the ball yet" card. :D

And I would have just stared at you for a brief second before heading towards my new lead position. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

Day game or night game?

Oh wait, nevermind, that's baseball. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
I don't know if it fits in every circumstance, but someone somewhere on this board once said, "You are where you were until you get where you're going."

C'mon now, that doesn't scan. Try it aloud: "you ARE where you WERE till you GET where you're GOING."

There, isn't that better?

rockyroad Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
And I would have just stared at you for a brief second before heading towards my new lead position. ;)

No puking on his shoes???

So what if this was in the JV game and the Varsity coach was sitting on the bench yelling at you??? Would you call the violation then? Would you? Huh?:cool:

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
No puking on his shoes???

So what if this was in the JV game and the Varsity coach was sitting on the bench yelling at you??? Would you call the violation then? Would you? Huh?:cool:

Yup, and then I'd have puked on his shoes when he confronted me at the locker room door.

That would be the best report I ever wrote.

rockyroad Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yup, and then I'd have puked on his shoes when he confronted me at the locker room door.

That would be the best report I ever wrote.

Send me a copy of it, OK??:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1