The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40355-backcourt-violation.html)

Freddy Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:05pm

Backcourt violation?
 
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

kbilla Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

yes

TimTaylor Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:12pm

Yes it is a BC violation - had the same thing happen in a GV game last Saturday.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 14, 2007 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

I agree. THere have been more questions about this rule this year than I can remember in the past (and most have nothing to do with the recent NFHS interps on the issue).

SamIAm Fri Dec 14, 2007 09:23am

Perhaps BasketBallRef is to blame as I don't recall his annual BackCourt Quiz. Did I miss it?

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:15am

Re. Mark Padgent's Question
 
Mark wrote: Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.
__________________

I called it a violation firmly and confidently. A veteran coach who typically questions no calls ever loudly yelled, "You got that one wrong!" Not enough to make me doubt my call, but enough to go to the rulebook and casebook when I got home to confirm my confidence. The rulebook is clear on the matter in its own confusing way. The casebook doesn't bring up a situation like that. So, in summary, it's a situation where I am confident as to the rule, but was just confirming it through the guys/girls on the webring. Like I like to think, "There's a fine line between confidence and cockiness." I want to pursue the former without lapsing into the latter. That's why this webring is a significant help to me.

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:16am

Mark - see explanation later in the thread. Thanx for you interest and for the way in which you stated your inquiry!

tjones1 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Perhaps BasketBallRef is to blame as I don't recall his annual BackCourt Quiz. Did I miss it?

I don't think he's posted it in two years.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:30am

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

bigdog5142 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:35am

Ultimately, coaches DO NOT know this rule...and it makes some question their calls when coaches consistently badger about the backcourt violation.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?


I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

Okay. Once A2 receives the initial pass from A1, the ball is now in FC with team control for A.
Once A1 touches the pass from A2, the ball now gains BC status since A2 has BC status by virtue of his last contact with the floor. For rule purposes, he may as well have been standing in the back court.

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:41am

Yep
 
That's how I read it. I don't know if it fits in every circumstance, but someone somewhere on this board once said, "You are where you were until you get where you're going." I think that clearly fits this situation.

CoachP Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog5142
Ultimately, coaches DO NOT know this rule...and it makes some question their calls when coaches consistently badger about the backcourt violation.

My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

tjones1 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

Hmmm, that could be a very short night if that were the case.

TimTaylor Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

Think of it this way:
You are where you are until you get where you're going.

The location of an airborne player is determined by where they last touched the court before becoming airborne. There are 3 elements to a BC violation, team control, last touched in front court by team with control, first touched in back court by team with control. In the case presented, team control by A was clearly established, the ball gained front court status when caught by A2 in front court, was last touched in front court by A2 when they passed it back to A1, and first touched in back court by A1 who still had back court status. Hence all 3 elements are satisfied & you have a BC violation.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

Probably because he had one of his kids called for it once and, wait for it..... misunderstood the explanation.

just another ref Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor
There are 3 elements to a BC violation, team control, last touched in front court by team with control, first touched in back court by team with control.



Actually, first touched by team in control after gaining backcourt status. It is not necessary that the actual touch be in the backcourt.

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation, expecting a big negative reaction from the coach, but there was none.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Actually, first touched by team in control after gaining backcourt status. It is not necessary that the actual touch be in the backcourt.

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation...

Excellent situation and clarification!

So it didn't matter that it was the same player who picked it up? If her teammate would've touched it first, it was still a BC violation?

bob jenkins Fri Dec 14, 2007 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
Excellent situation and clarification!

So it didn't matter that it was the same player who picked it up? If her teammate would've touched it first, it was still a BC violation?

Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

What if there's a 15-pt no press rule in effect? :rolleyes:

CoachP Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
[/COLOR]

Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation, expecting a big negative reaction from the coach, but there was none.

HTBT but, I would have played the "she was falling and didn't have control of the ball yet" card. :D

If she would have fell WITH the ball, I would have accepted a travel.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
HTBT but, I would have played the "she was falling and didn't have control of the ball yet" card. :D

And I would have just stared at you for a brief second before heading towards my new lead position. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes.

And, to anticipate the next question, it doesn't matter whether it's a 10-panel ball or an 8-panel ball, nor whether it's a boy's game or a girl's game.

Day game or night game?

Oh wait, nevermind, that's baseball. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
I don't know if it fits in every circumstance, but someone somewhere on this board once said, "You are where you were until you get where you're going."

C'mon now, that doesn't scan. Try it aloud: "you ARE where you WERE till you GET where you're GOING."

There, isn't that better?

rockyroad Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
And I would have just stared at you for a brief second before heading towards my new lead position. ;)

No puking on his shoes???

So what if this was in the JV game and the Varsity coach was sitting on the bench yelling at you??? Would you call the violation then? Would you? Huh?:cool:

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
No puking on his shoes???

So what if this was in the JV game and the Varsity coach was sitting on the bench yelling at you??? Would you call the violation then? Would you? Huh?:cool:

Yup, and then I'd have puked on his shoes when he confronted me at the locker room door.

That would be the best report I ever wrote.

rockyroad Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yup, and then I'd have puked on his shoes when he confronted me at the locker room door.

That would be the best report I ever wrote.

Send me a copy of it, OK??:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1