The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Do, the stuff that buys the beer
Re, the man who serves me beer
Me, myself, I drink the beer
Fa, a long long way for beer
So, I'll have another beer
La, I'll have another beer
Te, No thanks, I'm drinking beer
And that will bring us back to Do.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
While this is true there is no rule that depends on FC or BC status without team control that I can think of. In the OP's play FC/BC status is irrelevant. Do you agree...or is there some 3rd world case where it might apply that you can think of?
Can't think of one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
btw...4-13 just defines FC/BC, it doesn't tell you how FC/BC status is defined. The rule you'll need for ball status is actually 4-4.
That's exactly what I said. I even cited 4-4 after talking about ball status.
You may need another cup of coffee this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

That's exactly what I said. I even cited 4-4 after talking about ball status.
You may need another cup of coffee this morning.
Nah, almost noon. Too late for more coffee. Time for a beer.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
No, the lines painted on the floor and rule 4-13 in the book define what is the frontcourt and what is the backcourt.

Which team has control has nothing to do with it.

The ball has a status of its own. That can be live or dead, inbounds or OOB, and in the FC or BC. Players each have their own status. Each can be inbounds, OOB, in the FC or in the BC and we hope that none are dead.

The status of the ball and the players are independent concepts. They only connect when the ball is in contact with a player or more than one player.
It is entirely possible to have all ten players in the backcourt and the ball in the frontcourt with respect to Team A. (Actually, I can think of a situation in which all five players from Team A can legally be OOB, all five players of Team B can be in their backcourt, and the ball can be in the backcourt of Team A!!! )

Please give 4-4 and 4-35 a thorough read.
Ok, I used the word "standing" vs what I shoud have said where the ball is located Frontcourt/Backcourt.

When the ball is in A's frontcourt it is in B's backcourt. The post I originally replied to states that when the ball is touched in the frontcourt in gains front court status (keeping in mind the throwin)

How is that statement true. If the touching is by B first (and you go with the thought that we have to define frontcourt/backcourt) wouldn't that make the ball have "backcourt" status?

I'm not trying to be difficult. I am just trying to make sure you understand where my statement was coming from.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2493
How is that statement true. If the touching is by B first (and you go with the thought that we have to define frontcourt/backcourt) wouldn't that make the ball have "backcourt" status?
The ball has BC status for Team B AND FC status for Team A. Since Team A is the only one we care about in this play, we use that notation.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The ball has BC status for Team B AND FC status for Team A. Since Team A is the only one we care about in this play, we use that notation.
I agree (somewhat).

I appologize, I didn't word the my original post the way I wanted to make it sound.

I just didn't think anyone should get stuck on FC/BC in this play sit.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!

Last edited by joseph2493; Thu Dec 13, 2007 at 01:32pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1