The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot not hitting the rim? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40264-shot-not-hitting-rim.html)

181174 Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:42pm

shot not hitting the rim?
 
I know there is no team control on a shot attempt but I am forgot, if a player shoots the ball and the shot doesn't hit the rim, can they be the first one to touch it before it hits the floor, Saturday in a grade school game I had a kid shoot from one side and catch the ball on the other side without it hitting the floor or anyone else touching it first? for some reason I can't decide if this is legal or not? it wasn't my call in this instance and my partner let them play on so I was just wondering if we made the correct no call on this? thanks for the help.

jdw3018 Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:45pm

The call was correct. If you judge it a legitimate try, then any player, including the shooter, can catch the ball.

Coltdoggs Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:48pm

Any player on the floor is entitled to a rebound on any shot attempt.

181174 Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:11pm

Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.

Unless this was an NBA game, the play was legal.

Mark Padgett Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:15pm

I wonder what the FEEBLE rule is on this.

WAIT - no I don't. :o

inigo montoya Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:56pm

Did anybody else see this post and become afraid we were being invaded by Borg? No? Just me? OK then.

Coltdoggs Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.

181174...again...Any player on the floor is entitled to a rebound on any shot attempt. It doesn't matter if it hits rim, backboard or both or nothing at all....if you deem it a legal shot attempt, they can rebound.

rainmaker Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Did anybody else see this post and become afraid we were being invaded by Borg? No? Just me? OK then.

Wow, Borg refs? That's an interesting thought...

Ref_in_Alberta Tue Dec 11, 2007 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I wonder what the FIBA rule is on this.

Not a violation under FIBA. Legal play.

just another ref Tue Dec 11, 2007 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Wow, Borg refs? That's an interesting thought...

Borg refs? Is that the kind that beats up on the McEnroe refs?

Jimgolf Tue Dec 11, 2007 02:44pm

I didn't think Borg, I thought Engrish.

"All of your base are belong to us." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_you...e_belong_to_us

rainmaker Tue Dec 11, 2007 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
I didn't think Borg, I thought Engrish.

"All of your base are belong to us." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_you...e_belong_to_us

And I didn't know your Engrish reference, but I do look at Engrish.com every day. Do you?

rgncjn Tue Dec 11, 2007 03:02pm

Legal play...

I had this happen last year. A fan (parent) sitting in the front row of a MS boys' game did not like me for not calling the violation. (His son was playing on the other team). The best part... he was wearing a zippered-referee shirt.

I politely leaned over to him during a dead ball and said, "since you're a referee, you should know that play is legal, rule ##-# on page ## of the rule book even says that it is legal." (At this point, I forget the exact rule citation, but I did at the time).

Coincidentally, this "official" has a copy of the NFHS rules book in his coat pocket in addition to his manual for the Friendly House Recreation League. He looked it up in the book, and discovered I was correct, and then did not hear a word from him the rest of the game. :)

Mark Padgett Tue Dec 11, 2007 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta
Not a violation under FIBA. Legal play.

Next time, read the entire post, eh? ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1