![]() |
shot not hitting the rim?
I know there is no team control on a shot attempt but I am forgot, if a player shoots the ball and the shot doesn't hit the rim, can they be the first one to touch it before it hits the floor, Saturday in a grade school game I had a kid shoot from one side and catch the ball on the other side without it hitting the floor or anyone else touching it first? for some reason I can't decide if this is legal or not? it wasn't my call in this instance and my partner let them play on so I was just wondering if we made the correct no call on this? thanks for the help.
|
The call was correct. If you judge it a legitimate try, then any player, including the shooter, can catch the ball.
|
Any player on the floor is entitled to a rebound on any shot attempt.
|
Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.
|
Quote:
|
I wonder what the FEEBLE rule is on this.
WAIT - no I don't. :o |
Did anybody else see this post and become afraid we were being invaded by Borg? No? Just me? OK then.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I didn't think Borg, I thought Engrish.
"All of your base are belong to us." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_you...e_belong_to_us |
Quote:
|
Legal play...
I had this happen last year. A fan (parent) sitting in the front row of a MS boys' game did not like me for not calling the violation. (His son was playing on the other team). The best part... he was wearing a zippered-referee shirt. I politely leaned over to him during a dead ball and said, "since you're a referee, you should know that play is legal, rule ##-# on page ## of the rule book even says that it is legal." (At this point, I forget the exact rule citation, but I did at the time). Coincidentally, this "official" has a copy of the NFHS rules book in his coat pocket in addition to his manual for the Friendly House Recreation League. He looked it up in the book, and discovered I was correct, and then did not hear a word from him the rest of the game. :) |
Quote:
|
Dribble Own Shot Myth
The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41) |
In a related matter, what happens when a free throw shooter's 1 and 1 attempt misses everything and ball is still in play in key area and doesn't go OOBs? Is this considered a live ball or violation?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm. |