The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot not hitting the rim? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40264-shot-not-hitting-rim.html)

BillyMac Tue Dec 11, 2007 07:44pm

Dribble Own Shot Myth
 
The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.

Jimgolf Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
And I didn't know your Engrish reference, but I do look at Engrish.com every day. Do you?

I live in NY City. Engrish is our second language.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 13, 2007 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.

Straight out of the NFHS case book:

4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41)

rngrck Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:12pm

In a related matter, what happens when a free throw shooter's 1 and 1 attempt misses everything and ball is still in play in key area and doesn't go OOBs? Is this considered a live ball or violation?

jdw3018 Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rngrck
In a related matter, what happens when a free throw shooter's 1 and 1 attempt misses everything and ball is still in play in key area and doesn't go OOBs? Is this considered a live ball or violation?

If a FT shooter's unsuccessful attempt doesn't hit the rim it is a violation as soon as it is clear it will not contact the rim.

kbilla Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rngrck
In a related matter, what happens when a free throw shooter's 1 and 1 attempt misses everything and ball is still in play in key area and doesn't go OOBs? Is this considered a live ball or violation?

If his/her first attempt of the 1&1 misses everything then it is NOT live, the shooter has committed a violation and the ball is dead...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1