The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2002, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by tharbert
The clock should start as soon as the ball is touched legally by any player (A or B) inbounds. At that point, A1 will violate as soon as (s)he touches the ball while standing out of bounds. It's the same as B1 batting a legal throw-in back to A1 standing out of bounds. Good D.
In-bounder A1 dribbles ball OOB. The ball's spin allows a portion of the ball to be across the in-bounds plane while returning to A1's hands. While returning to A1, the ball is touched by B1 on the IB side of the boundary plane. The ball still makes it to A1's hands, so A1 tosses a pass in-bounds to A2.

I agree it is good D; but I would think that the throw-in actually ended when B1 touched the ball. Therefore, throw-in violation by A1 (ball bounced OOB on throw-in).

Even if B1 had legally batted the ball into the bleachers (ball never touching A1 after the bat), then that is still a violation on A1 IMO.

[Edited by Slider on Feb 4th, 2002 at 10:46 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1