![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() It must've been a heck've mind-numbing game...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I just deleted my post regarding yours and Mark's question and am considering a new post to address your concern. MTD, Sr. P.S. See New Post below.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Nov 28, 2007 at 01:11pm. |
|
|||
|
I have to admit I never thought a thread I started mostly in jest would elicit this many serious responses.
I'm going to have to change meds.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
M&M Guy and Mark:
I understand your reasoning for wanting to apply NFHS R5-S2-A1. BUT there is nothing in the original play that tells me what A3's court status is when he touched A1's try. Therefore we can have two possible Rulings regarding this Play. #1) A3's court status was behind the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore three points are scored for the successful try. OR, #2) A3's court status was inside the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore NFHS R5-S2-A1 applies and two points are scored for the sucessful try. In either case NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) is the play that supports our joint Ruling. MTD, Sr. P.S. #1 is my story and I am sticking with it.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Mark, if A3 intentionally touches the ball, can't this be ruled the start of a new try or tap?
That's what I was asking (unclearly) earlier... Oh, and I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on what constitutes "approximately." Since it isn't defined, I guess it is left up to our judgement, and two fouls in less than 1 second constitute "approximately" to me.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Camron: I feel your pain. Mark's intent in posting the play as he wrote it was to make officials think. It got officials to open their rules books and casebooks and breakdown the play. That is a good thing. Plus, if this play was on a test, one must answer it per the rules book and I would stand by my ruling of a false multiple foul. 1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul. 2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question. NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful. 2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation. B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul: A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws. B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul: A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws. 2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation. B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul: A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws. B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul: A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
My assertion is that if there are two fouls are called and are commited against the same shooter during the same live ball....it IS approximately the same time and will always be a multiple foul. It doesn't matter that one precedes the other by a small amount of time (even if the release occurs in that interval), it is still "approximately" the same time.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|