The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Since I have nothing better to do, I'll give you my thoughts on your call:
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. [B](False Multiple Foul)[/B] penalize accordingly.I don't see this as false. Two fouls on an airborne shooter constitute "approximately the same time" in my opinion.

While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. Common Foul ball is still live

The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. The three attempt turns into a two unless A3 is behind the three point line.Good catch. I argue it matters a lot whether the touching was intentional and/or while on the way down, as either would end the try and disallow the basket.

Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Technical foul; score the basket for BI two points

Team A shoots two for grasping of the rim

Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head. Unsporting Technical Two shoots for Team BGuessing you mean Team A here, as the T was on B.

you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys. Team A will shot 2 for the illegal jersey; Team B will shoot 2 for the illegal jersey. You can't penalize for the illegal jerseys, as you can only penalize when they enter the game (or starters at the beginning of the game).

and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. Double flagrant technical with both coaches being ejected for fighting. No free throws; Two free throws for team b for coach A being out of the box I'm only ejecting B if he's actually engaged in the fight.

So, I have team a shooting 4 free throws for team B be infractions;
I have team B shooting 6 free throws for team A infractions.

I have A-1 shooting 2 free throws for the foul committed by B1 because of the touching of the ball by A3; shooting 2 for the foul by B2 before returning to the floor fouling an airbourne shooter. I'm on the multiple foul ruling here, which would give 1, or 2, FTs for each foul based on whether the try was successful or not and whether it was a 3-pointer or not.

B's ball at division line for throw-in.

I have nothing else better to do so this is my call.
Whew.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. [B](False Multiple Foul)[/b] penalize accordingly.
Nope...actual multiple foul (approximatley the same time...don't split timing hairs in multiple/double fouls).
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie

The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. The three attempt turns into a two unless A3 is behind the three point line.

Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Technical foul; score the basket for BI two points
If A3's prior touch was GT, then there is no BI on B. In fact, there is no BI on B at all if the rim returns to it's normal position before the ball gets there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys. Team A will shot 2 for the illegal jersey; Team B will shoot 2 for the illegal jersey.
Not at this time...only penalized when entering/reentering.
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. Double flagrant technical with both coaches being ejected for fighting. No free throws; Two free throws for team b for coach A being out of the box
Only a T on coach A. There is no rule against being hit. Unless you can tell me what rule coach B violated, there is no T on coach B. Fighting doesn't necessarily take two people....it's an attempt to strike another person.

Edit.... The only other way to be charged with fighting is to do something which provokes a fight...could be words, getures, etc. However, breathing is not a qualifying provocation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Nov 26, 2007 at 07:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:35pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?
It's a DO-OVER!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It's a DO-OVER!
Dang it. That's way better than my attempt.

Sorry for the euphemism.

Last edited by jdw3018; Mon Nov 26, 2007 at 02:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
If this happened in one of my games...I think I would just pee my pants, cry and then leave the gym.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Two words.

Fetal position.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 03:06pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Oh yeah - I forgot to mention that three players from each team were dunking during warmups. And - the game is not in Kansas.

To answer an earlier question, the ball was touched on its downward arch.

Another oh yeah - B4 is wearing taped nipple rings, but they're medic alert.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 01:38pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142
I think I would just pee my pants
I think you actually have to take your whistle off for this one.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 09:03pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Hey, it wasn't in my area!
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Hey, it wasn't in my area!
Liar.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 10:41am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Liar.
Thank you.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It's a DO-OVER!
Thank you for the best response of the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 05:29pm
sfd sfd is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
why not?

OK, I've been reading here a long time, calling games for 2 years, and now posting a reply.

I enjoy looking around here as there is sometimes good information and sometimes good fun poking.

So, taking sections of this and assuming any one of them could happen, here is what I wonder.

How about A1 doesn't get FTs because his shot ended when touched by A4(or was it A3?) Unless in the bonus
Well, not really ended, but became a pass, right?

And why does A4 (or A3)'s touching matter if it was upward or on the way down? If it's not in the cylinder, is it not the same as an 'alley-oop'? I have seen several passes like this that look like an attempt until the teammate catches it.

Other than that, I heard an inadvertant whistle right before all this started. Throw out everybody who's not playing nice and give A the ball at POI.

Last edited by sfd; Mon Nov 26, 2007 at 05:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfd
How about A1 doesn't get FTs because his shot ended when touched by A4(or was it A3?) Unless in the bonus
Well, not really ended, but became a pass, right?

If A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled, it doesn't matter what happens after that. A1 is not even required to release the ball...the foul may prevent the release.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfd
And why does A4 (or A3)'s touching matter if it was upward or on the way down? If it's not in the cylinder, is it not the same as an 'alley-oop'? I have seen several passes like this that look like an attempt until the teammate catches it.
On the way down and has a chance to go in...GT. Yes, some "alley-oops" are technically GT...but rarely (never) called. Usually, you can tell pass/try as passes usually have a flatter trajectory and are released in a completely different way.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 05:41pm
sfd sfd is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Ok, I'll go with that. But then the basket shouldn't count at all, regardless of if it went in or where A1s teammate touched it, and A1 gets 3FT. The shot remains live after the foul but should end when touched by a teammate. Only if B touched it (GT) then it would be scored.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1