![]() |
Quote:
Bannind, please allow to me to attempt to help you a bit. You are missing a key point. The three exceptions to the backcourt violation are all for AIRBORNE players. In order to be eligible for one of the exceptions, the player must receive the ball while BOTH feet are off the floor. If one foot is touching the court at the time when the player catches the ball, then none of the exceptions can apply and the play is governed by the normal rule. So in addition to the new clarification making it crystal clear that the play posted in the OP is indeed a backcourt violation (and I had always called it that way), what you posted above and I highlighted in red is also a violation and has been for a long time. There is even a case book play stating exactly such. Here it is: 9.9.1 SITUATION A: A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Team control is established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am. |