![]() |
Backcourt violation or not?
On a TI from the division line, A1 releases the ball. The ball is deflected by B1 (who is pressuring the TI). The ball gets delected further into the air.
A2, jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in the air while over the division line and then lands in the backcourt. Is this a violation? Clearly prior to this season, it was not a violation. However, this year, the TI ends when the ball is legally touched inbounds which seems to occur when B1 deflected the inbounds pass. Therefore, the TI "exception" to the backcourt violation would no longer apply. All other criteria for a backcourt violation seem to be present. What am I missing??????????? |
Since there is no team control on a throw in, then the answer is no. This is a legal play- 9-9-1
|
Quote:
It is clear that it's a violation now. See interp 6 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Clarify "See interp 6". I work HS only. |
Quote:
You can get them on the NFHS website. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It is not a violation as described in the first post. Yes a deflection or tap ends the throwin, but it does not establish front/backcourt possession.
I believe the situation that will cause the most problems, because of the clarification of when a throwin ends, is with momentum causing a player who catches a ball with one foot in the front court and momentum carries them into the back court. While legal if during a throwin, if the ball has been deflected (in a manner that is considered a legal touch) and A1 gains control of the ball with one foot in the front court and momentum takes them into the back court - at that point there is a violation. That is because the consideration to allow a players momentum to legally take them into the back court only exists during a throwin. If the ball has been legally touched the throwin is over and that consideration no longer exists. But in reference to the original posters question - there would be no violation. but that is just my reading on the rules. |
Quote:
The only time this is not a violation is during a throw-in, as it is an allowed exception to the rule. Since B tipped the ball, ending the throw-in, the exception no longer applies. |
Quote:
Very well put, jdw. |
"You are where you were until you get where you're going" applies to A2 in this case. Along with B's touch ending the TI: violation.
|
Quote:
Bob Jenkins has already said above that the the NFHS posted the correct ruling on their web site. The FED ruling is that it <b>IS</b> a violation. How can you then say that it's </b>your</b> reading of the rules when you obviously <b>didn't</b> bother to read the rules.:confused: http:..http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx See Situation #6. Note that it's the exact play described in the original post of this thread. Also note that is probably the third or fourth thread about the exact same play. The ruling ain't gonna change, folks. |
I do stand corrected - I was not getting any response from the NFHS.org website and I had left the fed books at the office, thus I could not verify for myself.
I don't take it the wrong way - and have a great Thanksgiving Jurassic (and everyone else). |
Quote:
Bannind, please allow to me to attempt to help you a bit. You are missing a key point. The three exceptions to the backcourt violation are all for AIRBORNE players. In order to be eligible for one of the exceptions, the player must receive the ball while BOTH feet are off the floor. If one foot is touching the court at the time when the player catches the ball, then none of the exceptions can apply and the play is governed by the normal rule. So in addition to the new clarification making it crystal clear that the play posted in the OP is indeed a backcourt violation (and I had always called it that way), what you posted above and I highlighted in red is also a violation and has been for a long time. There is even a case book play stating exactly such. Here it is: 9.9.1 SITUATION A: A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Team control is established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20am. |