The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 06:03pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I don't see a case 7.5.3b

4.19.8c seems to apply (although in the case the foul happens before the throw-in, rather than during it), so I'd give B the end-line.
Methinks(which usually gets me in trouble) that he meant 7-5-3(b). That rule does say that the it's a designated spot throw-in. That's misleading though imo because a double foul goes to the POI, and the POI in this case is an unrestricted endline throw-in. Logically, I can't see why they'd penalize the throwing team more than their opponents in a double-foul situation by tacking on the added penalty of the throwing team losing the right to run the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 167
7-5-7(b) says they retain the right to run the end line if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul......since a double foul is not a common foul my thinking was a designated spot throw in..more food for thought
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by som44
7-5-7(b) says they retain the right to run the end line if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul......since a double foul is not a common foul my thinking was a designated spot throw in..more food for thought
What you say here certainly has merit. However, I would probably go with this:

4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-3b)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by som44
7-5-7(b) says they retain the right to run the end line if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul......since a double foul is not a common foul my thinking was a designated spot throw in..more food for thought
Wouldn't the double personal be made up of two common personal fouls? So it looks to me like you'd let B run the baseline for the POI.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Wouldn't the double personal be made up of two common personal fouls? So it looks to me like you'd let B run the baseline for the POI.
You need to study your definitions.

4-19-2 . . . A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
Guess I was reading the wrong definition. My mistake.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bag the OOB Spot? ljudge Football 15 Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:10pm
10.5 Spot bilt irefky Baseball 0 Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:07pm
spot? jr Basketball 1 Tue Nov 22, 2005 03:02am
Succeeding spot after a TD RedCisc Football 8 Sat Aug 20, 2005 09:47pm
OOB spot........ zebra44 Basketball 4 Sat Mar 12, 2005 08:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1