![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As to the inbounder on the sideline - we were talking about a violation on a player for being OOB other than on the end-line during a non-designated end-line throw-in. If a teammate is OOB during a designated-spot throw-in, it's a violation under 9-2-11 which applies directly to designated-spot throw-ins. |
Quote:
IOW, if they do something you wouldn't call during regular play, you shouldn't call it during a throwin since the rules are the same. (except for the throwin provisions). |
[QUOTE=jdw3018]You have called leaving the court for an unauthorized reason a ton of times? Really? I don't think I've ever called it.
absolutely, most common situation is where you have a screen near the end line and offensive player runs around it out of bounds....doesn't happen every game by any stretch, but a couple of times each season.... |
Quote:
The other rule allows for "authorized reason." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
During an end-line throwin, only one of these rules is in effect. During a spot throwin, there is no authorized reason for a teammate of the thrower to be out of bounds. Restrictions are tighter then, IMO. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
To me, "leaving the court" and "being OOB" are two different things. To be OOB is to touch the boundary in any way. To "leave the court" is much more a judgement call, IMO. That's why I see a need for both 9-2-11 and 9-3-3. A teammate touching OOB at all during a throw-in is a violation. In other live-ball cases, in my judgement, it's not necessarily a violation. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am. |