The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   correctable error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39398-correctable-error.html)

bob jenkins Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
This is not really equitable,

My view: The correctable error rule isn't designed to be "equitable." It's designed so EVERYONE (both teams and the officials) has an incentive to "fix" the error before it occurs. If you wait, what looks like an advantage can cause you to get screwed.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 08, 2007 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Let me re-phrase this to ensure I understand the ruling. Team A leads by 2 points. B1 was fouled in the act of shooting, but was sent to the line to shoot 1-and-1? B1 misses the shot, and B2 tips it in, then the buzzer sounds. The score is tied, so we go to OT. The official discovers the error, since the basket was scored, it still counts, since all awarded points prior to the correctable error count. Since B1 has earned a second free throw, it is shot as part of the OT period. Is that summary correct?

No. No longer correctable. On the rebound, the ball was live and the clock started. On the make by B2, the ball became dead. At the time of the next live ball, its too late. In this case time expired before the ball became live. To start OT, the ball became live again...correction opportunity over. If A had taken the ball out for a throwin after B2's make, it would also be too late.

Nevadaref Thu Nov 08, 2007 04:49pm

Camron,
1. The fourth quarter ended with the made goal and before the opponent could get the ball for a throw-in.
2. The error is caught prior to the ball becoming live in the extra period.

Now what is your opinion?

rockyroad Thu Nov 08, 2007 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Camron,
1. The fourth quarter ended with the made goal and before the opponent could get the ball for a throw-in.
2. The error is caught prior to the ball becoming live in the extra period.

Now what is your opinion?

What error? :p

Camron Rust Thu Nov 08, 2007 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Camron,
1. The fourth quarter ended with the made goal and before the opponent could get the ball for a throw-in.
2. The error is caught prior to the ball becoming live in the extra period.

Now what is your opinion?

We're going to OT...starting with the FT that was merited...then the jump ball.

When the 4th quarter ends in a tie, OT will be played unless there is an error in the score book that can be rectified. This is not a scorebook error. Without making the ball live again (for the FT), you can't make a correction.

Nevadaref Thu Nov 08, 2007 09:42pm

Perhaps I should have written that the horn sounded to indicate the expiration of time in the 4th quarter following the goal, but before the ball became live for the ensuing throw-in instead of what I wrote above as #1.

Now the question is has the 4th quarter really ended yet?

5-6-2 is clear, but exception 3 is of interest. Of course, there was no foul, so exception 3 likely doesn't apply, but "all related activity" certainly have not been completed.

So when the ball is made live again to correct the error is that the first live ball of the extra period or is still part of the fourth quarter?

This is a very instructive thread. I wouldn't be surprised to see a clarification from the NFHS.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 09, 2007 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Perhaps I should have written that the horn sounded to indicate the expiration of time in the 4th quarter following the goal, but before the ball became live for the ensuing throw-in instead of what I wrote above as #1.

Now the question is has the 4th quarter really ended yet?

5-6-2 is clear, but exception 3 is of interest. Of course, there was no foul, so exception 3 likely doesn't apply, but "all related activity" certainly have not been completed.

So when the ball is made live again to correct the error is that the first live ball of the extra period or is still part of the fourth quarter?

This is a very instructive thread. I wouldn't be surprised to see a clarification from the NFHS.

I see this as being similar to a T being called AFTER the horn sounds with the game tied. It is part of OT. Once the 4th Qtr. ends in a tie, you don't open it back up for more scoring. You make corrections in the book, but don't make the ball live again.

Splute Fri Nov 09, 2007 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I see this as being similar to a T being called AFTER the horn sounds with the game tied. It is part of OT. Once the 4th Qtr. ends in a tie, you don't open it back up for more scoring. You make corrections in the book, but don't make the ball live again.

IMO a T being called after the horn sounds and catching a Correctable Error within the allowed time frame are not similar at all. Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside according to 2-10-1. In order to correct any of the officials’ errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. That error has been recognized and the clock will not start again; IMO this is correctable NOW. If the additional FT breaks the tie, there should not be an OT. Per rule 2-5-7 we are to approve the score at the end of each half.... how can we do that if there is a correctable error that can still be corrected?
However, all that said, I had rather play OT in all fairness to both teams due to the official's error and would probably rule it that way for that reason alone. Unless someone (NFHS) confirms the correct answer to this situation.:confused:

Nevadaref Fri Nov 09, 2007 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
IMO a T being called after the horn sounds and catching a Correctable Error within the allowed time frame are not similar at all.

I agree with that.

The T after the quarter has ended clearly has nothing to do with that quarter, so it starts the next. However, an error that was made within the quarter and is caught during the dead ball after the horn definitely has to do with that quarter. It even seems to me that it has a lot more to do with that quarter than the next one.

BTW if this were to occur at the end of the 2nd quarter, at which basket would we administer the FT? The one the team was using in the first half or the one that they will be shooting at in the 2nd half.

I recall that we had such a thread on here a while back.

Splute Fri Nov 09, 2007 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
BTW if this were to occur at the end of the 2nd quarter, at which basket would we administer the FT? The one the team was using in the first half or the one that they will be shooting at in the 2nd half.

I recall that we had such a thread on here a while back.

Ha, if we are shooting the merited FT with the lanes clear and then going to AP for 3rd period, I really do not see that it matters. We will shoot to the correct team basket either way. I would apply it to the 2nd quarter and shoot at that basket, go to half time, and continue play as usual.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1