The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2007, 03:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The thrower isn't allowed to step onto the court before releasing the throw-in...A1 sets it down and goes inbounds, they can't go back and throw it in, IMO.
This rule applies to spot throwins only.
I don't have my rule book, but I'm pretty sure there's no rule that prevents the following scenario:

1. A1 grabs ball for an endline throwin.
2. A2 steps out of bounds and takes the ball from A1.
3. A1 runs in bounds and around some defenders, then back out of bounds on the other side of the lane from A2.
4. A2 throws a pass to A1, now standing OOB.
5. A2 passes inbounds to A3.

Likewise, nothing in the rules prevents a would-be thrower from going inbounds and then back out of bounds to get the ball during the endline throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Thu Nov 01, 2007 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1