The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I think you are incorrect. Read 9-2 Penalty 3 again.
Hmmm...I is idiot. Outside the boundary line does, indeed, mean someone outide the boundary line...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Hmmm...I is idiot. Outside the boundary line does, indeed, mean someone outide the boundary line...
I originally misread your post. I stand corrected.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I originally misread your post. I stand corrected.
No, you read it right - I misread the rule. In my head, I was thinking it stated passing it to someone inside the boundary, not outside. So, technical if it's in A's possession or being passed to A2 outside the boundary line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
no.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
4-31.

Not a pass.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I really don't like this loop hole. If A1 drops the ball and lets it bounce in place while A2 comes and gets it, it's a pass. If A1 sets the ball down so it will be sure to stay where he wants it while A2 comes to get it, I sure could consider it a pass.

BTW, a drop pass does not fit the definition of 4-31, either, yet it's a common tool for good point guards.

And, if this ball is rolling ever so slightly and slowly, it suddenly fits 4-31 and you need to call the technical anyway. I doubt the intent of the rule is for us to split this hair so finely.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
It was not my intent to have people get hung up on debating whether or not this action constitutes a pass. Therefore, I will slightly change the play.

1. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in, but Team A does not make a thrower immediately available so the official sounds the whistle and places the ball on the floor. B1 is confused and reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.

2. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. The official hands the ball to A1 and he sets the ball down on the floor between his legs, but he is not touching the ball, and proceeds to give hand signals to his teammates for two seconds. When he starts to bend down to pick up the ball, B1 reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1