The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this a T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39256-t.html)

M&M Guy Thu Nov 01, 2007 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
Is A2 anywhere near the ball?

Where is this a requirement? Are length-of-court passes not allowed, because A2 is not close to A1, who is throwing the pass?

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
Is A2 making any effort to get the ball?

Again, where is this requirement? If A1 throws the ball at A2, and A2 isn't looking and is not expecting the pass, does that mean it's no longer a pass?

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
A new throw-in and count is a hell of a lot less unfair than a delay warning and/or T to team B, now isn't it?

If B does something that, by the rules, is a delay warning or T, is that fair to the other team to <B>not</B> call it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
This is a screwed up scenario...clearly team A is confused, team B doesn't know what is happening and may do something that will get them a T, not because of a purposeful act but because of team A screwing up their throw-in.

Now, I may be willing to go along with you if I can see that there is definitely confusion involved with both teams. Remember, this in an endline throw-in for A, so at some point very recently B just scored. Why would you think there is some justification for B to think they get the ball again after they just scored?

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
Since we are dealing what ifs, what are you calling if A1 sets the ball down, moves inbounds, A2-5 doesn't move to pick up the ball, team B doesn't reach across to touch the ball and A1 goes back OOB to throw it in?

There will be a 5-second violation on A at the end of my count.

Adam Thu Nov 01, 2007 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
This is a screwed up scenario...clearly team A is confused, team B doesn't know what is happening and may do something that will get them a T, not because of a purposeful act but because of team A screwing up their throw-in.

Why is it clear that team A is confused? It could very well be a set play, and unless there's something specifically illegal, you have no basis for stopping it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oblindzebra
Since we are dealing what ifs, what are you calling if A1 sets the ball down, moves inbounds, A2-5 doesn't move to pick up the ball, team B doesn't reach across to touch the ball and A1 goes back OOB to throw it in?

Nothing. They haven't done anything wrong as long as it's not a spot throw-in. Are you going to call a violation on A1 for a spot throwin if he sets the ball down and picks it back up?

blindzebra Thu Nov 01, 2007 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Why is it clear that team A is confused? It could very well be a set play, and unless there's something specifically illegal, you have no basis for stopping it.


Nothing. They haven't done anything wrong as long as it's not a spot throw-in. Are you going to call a violation on A1 for a spot throwin if he sets the ball down and picks it back up?

The thrower isn't allowed to step onto the court before releasing the throw-in...A1 sets it down and goes inbounds, they can't go back and throw it in, IMO.

Adam Thu Nov 01, 2007 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
The thrower isn't allowed to step onto the court before releasing the throw-in...A1 sets it down and goes inbounds, they can't go back and throw it in, IMO.

This rule applies to spot throwins only.
I don't have my rule book, but I'm pretty sure there's no rule that prevents the following scenario:

1. A1 grabs ball for an endline throwin.
2. A2 steps out of bounds and takes the ball from A1.
3. A1 runs in bounds and around some defenders, then back out of bounds on the other side of the lane from A2.
4. A2 throws a pass to A1, now standing OOB.
5. A2 passes inbounds to A3.

Likewise, nothing in the rules prevents a would-be thrower from going inbounds and then back out of bounds to get the ball during the endline throwin.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 01, 2007 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
The thrower isn't allowed to step onto the court before releasing the throw-in...A1 sets it down and goes inbounds, they can't go back and throw it in, IMO.

Yup, and the thrower <b>didn't</b> step onto the court before releasing the throw-in. If the thrower doesn't have the ball, then the thrower is no longer the thrower, as per 4-42-1. There is no rule that I know of that says that A1 can't set the ball down, go in-bounds, go back OOB and make the throw-in. That's perfectly legal as long as the thrower makes a legal throw-in within 5 seconds.

rainmaker Thu Nov 01, 2007 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, and the thrower <b>didn't</b> step onto the court before releasing the throw-in. If the thrower doesn't have the ball, then the thrower is no longer the thrower, as per 4-42-1. There is no rule that I know of that says that A1 can't set the ball down, go in-bounds, go back OOB and make the throw-in. That's perfectly legal as long as the thrower makes a legal throw-in within 5 seconds.

as long as it's not a designated spot throw-in. And no matter what A does, B still can't reach through the plane and touch the ball.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:30am

BlindZegra and Old School
 
Why is it, that whenever Old School is taking part in a thread, BlindZebra never takes part in the same thread. And when BlindZebra is taking part in a thread, Old School never takes part in the same thread.

Just something to think about.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Good night all.

blindzebra Fri Nov 02, 2007 02:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Why is it, that whenever Old School is taking part in a thread, BlindZebra never takes part in the same thread. And when BlindZebra is taking part in a thread, Old School never takes part in the same thread.

Just something to think about.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Good night all.

Total BS.

I have on many occassions ripped him a good one.

Spend less time in your attic and more time paying attention before you spout off and look like a fool.

Just something to think about.:rolleyes:

Nevadaref Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
The thrower isn't allowed to step onto the court before releasing the throw-in...A1 sets it down and goes inbounds, they can't go back and throw it in, IMO.

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
This is a common sense issue, the intent of the rule wasn't to allow A1 to sit the ball down and not have a teammate replace them as the thrower.


Both of these statements are incorrect. The proof is in right there in the rules.

9-2-11 . . . No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

9-2-9 . . . The thrower shall not be replaced by a teammate after the ball is at the thrower's disposal, except as in 7-5-7.

The first rule clearly says designated-spot throw-in. There is no such rule for an end line throw-in. Thus A2 could step OOB and just stand there while A1 runs the end line and makes a throw-in pass. In fact, A2 could run OOB, back inbounds, and back out again during this time. There is nothing in the rules which prohibits it.

The second rule directly contradicts your second statement. The one you refer to as "common sense." :( Also please notice that this rule contains an unannounced change this season. The words in red did not appear in the 2006-07 rules book. It is obvious that the reason they were added is because people such as yourself were incorrectly applying this requirement to end line throw-ins. The prohibition is only for designated-spot throw-ins. The NFHS has gone out of its way this season to let people know that replacing the thrower is not illegal when the end line running privilege is in effect.

JugglingReferee Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Great. Now we have apocryphal rules?

I think you're referring to the deuterocanonical books. ;)

Adam Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
I think you're referring to the deuterocanonical books. ;)

And I thought the Council of Nicaea took care of all that.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
geeze, I'm still working thru my leftover Halloween candy and you're already talking about pumpkin pie!!?

btw...when's the last time BZ & Chuck Elias posted in the same thread?

btw2...it's not usual that BZ is wrong but he is so wrong on this it makes my head hurt.


Dan:

ROFLMAO :D

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Both of these statements are incorrect. The proof is in right there in the rules.

9-2-11 . . . No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

9-2-9 . . . The thrower shall not be replaced by a teammate after the ball is at the thrower's disposal, except as in 7-5-7.

The first rule clearly says designated-spot throw-in. There is no such rule for an end line throw-in. Thus A2 could step OOB and just stand there while A1 runs the end line and makes a throw-in pass. In fact, A2 could run OOB, back inbounds, and back out again during this time. There is nothing in the rules which prohibits it.

The second rule directly contradicts your second statement. The one you refer to as "common sense." :( Also please notice that this rule contains an unannounced change this season. The words in red did not appear in the 2006-07 rules book. It is obvious that the reason they were added is because people such as yourself were incorrectly applying this requirement to end line throw-ins. The prohibition is only for designated-spot throw-ins. The NFHS has gone out of its way this season to let people know that replacing the thrower is not illegal when the end line running privilege is in effect.


NevadaRef:

With apologies to Monty Python\'s Flying Circus: And now for something completely different.

Where does this thread stand on your Original Post? LOL

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1