The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
A's touch in the backcourt gives the ball backcourt status simultaneous with the touch. Agree?
Totally agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Now, consider this part of the rule: "touched...the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt". Who was the last person to touch it BEFORE it went to the backcourt? B2Basically, you draw a line in time at the very instant the ball gains BC status. If the last player to touch the ball before that point in time was team A and the first player after that point in time was team A, you have a violation. (Assuming team control).
I agree B2 is the last to touch player in the FC to touch the ball. I'm just having a problem with saying B2 caused the ball to get to the BC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
It's not close enough to compare...having the ball go to the BC is not a violation as going OOB is.
And it's these analogies that continue to haunt me.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic
9-1-1 says... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt...

Notice, there's no "and" in the rule.
The ball has status of FC or BC.
Team control continues once it's been established.

Once team control has been established, and the ball gains FC status, there is now team control in the FC.

There is no requirement for Player control to be established in the FC.

Otherwise, a pass from A1 (in the BC) to A2 (in the FC) that is never caught by A2 but instead gets muffed back to A1 would not be a violation. But it is.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The ball has status of FC or BC.
Team control continues once it's been established.

Once team control has been established, and the ball gains FC status, there is now team control in the FC.

There is no requirement for Player control to be established in the FC.

Otherwise, a pass from A1 (in the BC) to A2 (in the FC) that is never caught by A2 but instead gets muffed back to A1 would not be a violation. But it is.
But again the million $ question is how are you going to call it if it happens? I don't remember ever having this happen, but it seems so routine of a non-call, I actually probably did but let it go at the time...what are you going to do now?
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm calling my last play (post 47) a violation. It meets all the requirements by rule and interp.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm calling my last play (post 47) a violation. It meets all the requirements by rule and interp.
You are talking about the tip by B in the FC of a ball being dribbled by A in the BC? You are calling that a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
You are talking about the tip by B in the FC of a ball being dribbled by A in the BC? You are calling that a violation?
No. I'm talking about the muffed pass from BC to FC that bounces back into the BC before being retrieved by the passer.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No. I'm talking about the muffed pass from BC to FC that bounces back into the BC before being retrieved by the passer.
Gotcha, agreed on that...but you are not calling the play specifically spelled out in interp in question a BC violation? I don't agree with it, but I have a hard time not calling it if it is specifically spelled out that way..
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The ball has status of FC or BC.
Team control continues once it's been established.

Once team control has been established, and the ball gains FC status, there is now team control in the FC.

There is no requirement for Player control to be established in the FC.

Otherwise, a pass from A1 (in the BC) to A2 (in the FC) that is never caught by A2 but instead gets muffed back to A1 would not be a violation. But it is.
Same play setup, but change A2 to B2 and stipulate that A1 catches the rebound without the ball bouncing in the backcourt.

What do you call now?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Once team control has been established, and the ball gains FC status, there is now team control in the FC.

There is no requirement for Player control to be established in the FC.

Otherwise, a pass from A1 (in the BC) to A2 (in the FC) that is never caught by A2 but instead gets muffed back to A1 would not be a violation. But it is.
Good point.
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Same play setup, but change A2 to B2 and stipulate that A1 catches the rebound without the ball bouncing in the backcourt.

What do you call now?
By rule or by interp?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
By rule or by interp?
Exactly my point. They generate different answers.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Although it's dark here, the clouds broke and the sun is shining. Thanks for helping me better understand the rule requirements for a BC violation in a somewhat confusing situation (at least for me) and especially how they don't jive with the Fed interpretation. It is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic
9-1-1 says... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt...

Notice, there's no "and" in the rule.
Note that there is no need for a player from team A to even touch the ball in the FC for a ball to be in team control in the frontcourt.

Player A1, holding the ball in the backcourt (implies team control), passes the ball towards A2. The pass is a bounce pass and the bounce occurs in the FC (esablished FC status for the ball, even without touching a player). If that just happens to be a cross-court pass right at the division line (e.g. A1 straddling the division line to A2 also staddling the division line), that will be a violation even though not team A player ever touched the ball in the FC.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic
I agree B2 is the last to touch player in the FC to touch the ball. I'm just having a problem with saying B2 caused the ball to get to the BC.
The thing to remember is that it is not a violation ot cause the ball to get to the BC. That is where it is different from OOB calls.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 06:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Note that there is no need for a player from team A to even touch the ball in the FC for a ball to be in team control in the frontcourt.

Player A1, holding the ball in the backcourt (implies team control), passes the ball towards A2. The pass is a bounce pass and the bounce occurs in the FC (esablished FC status for the ball, even without touching a player). If that just happens to be a cross-court pass right at the division line (e.g. A1 straddling the division line to A2 also staddling the division line), that will be a violation even though not team A player ever touched the ball in the FC.
Or, consider a drop-pass from A1 right at the division line, FC side.
A1 drops the ball for a pass to A2, who is trailing. A2 grabs the ball before gaining FC status. Violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good gosh! I kicked it FrankHtown Basketball 20 Wed Oct 31, 2007 08:25pm
By Gosh... ace Basketball 6 Fri Jan 02, 2004 06:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1