Thread: Oh My Gosh!
View Single Post
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2007, 06:27pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic
9-1-1 says... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt...

Notice, there's no "and" in the rule.
Note that there is no need for a player from team A to even touch the ball in the FC for a ball to be in team control in the frontcourt.

Player A1, holding the ball in the backcourt (implies team control), passes the ball towards A2. The pass is a bounce pass and the bounce occurs in the FC (esablished FC status for the ball, even without touching a player). If that just happens to be a cross-court pass right at the division line (e.g. A1 straddling the division line to A2 also staddling the division line), that will be a violation even though not team A player ever touched the ball in the FC.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote