The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
Question

Team A(high school) has two subs at table. Both subs enter court without being beckon by the official. Officials calls T, gives a 2 T's. Is the official correct? Should there have been one T for both subs? Can not find answer in rule book on more than one sub entering the game without being beckon.

msref
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
If i am going to give a T, I think one T is plenty. could this have been prevented? Was it a dead ball situation? Could the official have told the players to go back?
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
There is no clear guidance on this in the rules or cases; so use your judgement.

However, in the officials manual, page 20, 118, last sentence, it says to whack 2 Ts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
At the time when the subs came on to the floor, there were two players taunting each other, the official turned to see what was going on and the subs walked past the officials toward the players...at first there seemed to be a fight but the other parts said that it wasn't a fight.

I have more than one answer to this question...(1) two "T" (2) one "T" (3) send the subs back to the table...But most agreed with two "T".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2002, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Jim Armstrong
It seems pretty severe to me to give the two T's, but the Officals manual does say, and I quote verbatim "If two or more teammates enter at the same time without reporting to the scorer or without being beckoned, a technical foul is charged for each substitute thus entering illegally". That seems to be pretty clear instruction to me.
__________________
Jim Ref
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1