The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
Under NCAA rules, the first statement is obviously true, and the second one can be.
There is Team Control during a throw-in (4-15-2c), however, if the throw-in is adjacent to the division line, an inbounds player in the front court not in control of the ball, may cause the ball to go into the backcourt.(7-6-8)

I guess I only wonder how much distance away they can be before they're not considered "adjacent" to the line.

That will be a question at our next rules clinic.
You might want to re-read the rule (or else I need to), because it doesn't say "adjacent to the division line." Instead, it says "adjacent to a front-court or back-court boundary line" -- by which they mean either the sideliine or either end-line.

The phrase isn't really needed (since all throw ins are adjacent to a boundary line), but it's there to empahsize that it doesn't matter whether the throw-in is adjacent to the front court or the back court.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Question:

ok.. A1 passes to A2.. B2 deflects the ball into the backcourt and A2 goes and gets it... vioaltion?? t or f
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Question:

ok.. A1 passes to A2.. B2 deflects the ball into the backcourt and A2 goes and gets it... vioaltion?? t or f
False, no violation. B2 was last to touch in A's frontcourt (I am making some assumptions with your scenario), thus A can recover in A's backcourt. I am also assuming the ball has bounced at least once in A's backcourt prior to touch now where is that thead?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Question:

ok.. A1 passes to A2.. B2 deflects the ball into the backcourt and A2 goes and gets it... vioaltion?? t or f
True - if the ball never touches the floor in the backcourt.
False - if the ball touches floor in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 01:14pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
You might want to re-read the rule (or else I need to), because it doesn't say "adjacent to the division line." Instead, it says "adjacent to a front-court or back-court boundary line" -- by which they mean either the sideliine or either end-line.

The phrase isn't really needed (since all throw ins are adjacent to a boundary line), but it's there to empahsize that it doesn't matter whether the throw-in is adjacent to the front court or the back court.
That's true. Thanks Bob. I guess I read through it quick and was thinking of it as the frontcourt/backcourt boundary line. That would obviously claear up the adjacent question I had.

My bad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or not to backcourt and POI reffish Basketball 7 Thu Oct 13, 2005 03:03pm
Backcourt?? Rock'nRef Basketball 6 Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm
BACKCOURT rburn22281 Basketball 9 Sun Jan 06, 2002 12:00pm
Backcourt? Mike Burns Basketball 3 Sat Dec 29, 2001 03:36pm
BACKCOURT? winston robinson Basketball 13 Wed Oct 24, 2001 06:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1