The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
From the NFHS website, the 2007-2008 interpretations:
1. A1 who is in backcourt and defended by B1 who is in A's frontcourt attempts to pass the ball to A2 who is in Team A's front court. B1, who is completely in Team A's frontcourt, jumps and deflects the pass such that it is deflected back to A1. The ball hits off A1 while still in the air. Violation???
No, Rule 9-9-1. Team A must first establish control in the frontcourt for a backcourt violation to occur.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
2. This would also mean A1, dribbling in backcourt, but feet stradling the division line is guarded by B1 who is completely in Team A's frontcourt. B1 reaches and bats the ball off A1's leg. Violation???

3. This would also mean A1, dribbling in completely (both feet and ball) in backcourt near the division line is guarded by B1 who is completely in frontcourt. B1 reaches and bats the ball off A1's leg. Violation???
No for both, Rule 4-4-6 and 9-9-1. The ball is still in the backcourt until both of the dribbler's feet and the ball touch in the frontcourt. Since team control has not been established in the frontcourt, there cannot be a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
2. This would also mean A1, dribbling in backcourt, but feet stradling the division line is guarded by B1 who is completely in Team A's frontcourt. B1 reaches and bats the ball off A1's leg. Violation???

3. This would also mean A1, dribbling in completely (both feet and ball) in backcourt near the division line is guarded by B1 who is completely in frontcourt. B1 reaches and bats the ball off A1's leg. Violation???


No for both, Rule 4-4-6 and 9-9-1. The ball is still in the backcourt until both of the dribbler's feet and the ball touch in the frontcourt. Since team control has not been established in the frontcourt, there cannot be a backcourt violation.
When B1, standing in the FC, touches the ball it gains FC status. (4-4-2) Furthermore, this was not during a dribble from BC to FC (as 4-4-6 covers) since A1 was not crossing the line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Rule 9-9-1
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Unlike Sit 10, none of those four "inspired" situations show that Team A had control in the frontcourt. The ball may have been in the frontcourt, but Team A never established control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not the biggest question but it still bothers me jontheref Football 29 Tue Sep 04, 2007 08:13pm
SEC Situation olddoc08 Basketball 15 Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:05am
Situation Roger Bridges Softball 47 Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am
Another .3 second situation williebfree Basketball 11 Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1