|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				5-9-4 unannounced change
			 
			
			The timing rule was also changed to match the new throw-in rule by adding the word "legally" in front of touched. So now the clock will only start when the ball is legally touched on a throw-in. This is good. If the clock moves on an immediate kick, it is a timing error and we should reset it. Since this change was not announced or shaded in gray and we have discussed it on this forum, I thought that I would call attention to it. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Quote: 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Who would'a thunk it? 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 For example, all FTs are untimed. They start and end with the clock not running. What's the big issue about some throw-ins being handled in the same manner? | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 The clock never starts because the touch isn't legal, yet the arrow flips because the throwin ends; per the interp. 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 So, let's fast-forward to this year's Sit. 3 interpretation - now they are saying the AP throw-in is completed, even though the ball is touched by a player OOB. So, are they counting the touch OOB as a legal touch? Therefore, should the clock start and stop? Or is the touching OOB not a legal touch, and therefore the switching of the arrow is in contradiction to the kicked-ball ruling? 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Team A has the AP throw-in. If the throw-in is first touched OOB by A2 it's a throw-in violation. Ball goes to the opponent at the original throw-in spot and A loses the arrow. No time would come off. You would never start and stop the clock for a touch OOB. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| What Would You Change? | jkumpire | Baseball | 0 | Sat Apr 21, 2007 08:34pm | 
| Would you change it? | tjones1 | Basketball | 11 | Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:47am | 
| FLEX unannounced | Bluerotor | Softball | 13 | Wed Aug 16, 2006 05:00pm | 
| Change in the ACC | tomegun | Basketball | 19 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 04:22pm | 
| Name change? | thumpferee | General / Off-Topic | 8 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 01:52pm |