![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
For example, all FTs are untimed. They start and end with the clock not running. What's the big issue about some throw-ins being handled in the same manner? |
|
||||
Quote:
The clock never starts because the touch isn't legal, yet the arrow flips because the throwin ends; per the interp.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, let's fast-forward to this year's Sit. 3 interpretation - now they are saying the AP throw-in is completed, even though the ball is touched by a player OOB. So, are they counting the touch OOB as a legal touch? Therefore, should the clock start and stop? Or is the touching OOB not a legal touch, and therefore the switching of the arrow is in contradiction to the kicked-ball ruling?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Team A has the AP throw-in. If the throw-in is first touched OOB by A2 it's a throw-in violation. Ball goes to the opponent at the original throw-in spot and A loses the arrow. No time would come off. You would never start and stop the clock for a touch OOB. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() In fact, I was the one who pointed out that the NFHS rule did not include the word legally while the NCAA rule did. Therefore, I took the position that in an NFHS game the clock should start and stop per rule. I also stated that the NFHS should change this. Furthermore, when the NFHS announced that they were changing how a throw-in ended by adding the word legally to rule 4-42-5, I quickly noted that they should make sure to also alter the clock rule to match. Quote:
![]() Quote:
Yes, the NFHS considers the touch itself to be legal. However, the position of the player is not legal. The player is penalized with an OOB violation per 9-3-2. There is no contradiction with the "kicked-ball ruling" provided in new case book play 4.42.5 and the clock should not start in either case. What you are missing is that the clock rule is completely separate from the rule which governs how a throw-in ends. The clock rule (5-9-4 which is the subject of this thread) now reads "...is legally touched by, a player on the court..." That means a player who is inbounds. So the clock only starts when an inbounds player legally contacts the ball. If an OOB player contacts the ball directly from a throw-in pass, the throw-in will end if the contact was legal or won't end if the contact was illegal, but either way the clock will not start. Why? Because two separate rules must be applied. One to decide whether the throw-in will end or not and another which says that the clock only starts on the legal touch of an inbounds player. So strictly speaking the second rule here (5-9-4) doesn't apply to the given situation (because the touching player is OOB) and thus the clock can't be started. Stated in a simpler way, in order for the clock to be started the player initially touching the ball from the throw-in pass must meet two requirements: 1. contact the ball legally 2. be on the court (= inbounds) I hope that clears it up for you. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Why does the rule read, "on the court", and not "inbounds"? Aren't the lines part of the court? In Situation 3, since the player A2 is standing on the line, are they considered "on the court"? If the court is only the inbounds area, then according to 4-34-1, A1 who is throwing the ball in, and A2, who is OOB, are not considered "players"?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What Would You Change? | jkumpire | Baseball | 0 | Sat Apr 21, 2007 08:34pm |
Would you change it? | tjones1 | Basketball | 11 | Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:47am |
FLEX unannounced | Bluerotor | Softball | 13 | Wed Aug 16, 2006 05:00pm |
Change in the ACC | tomegun | Basketball | 19 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 04:22pm |
Name change? | thumpferee | General / Off-Topic | 8 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 01:52pm |