![]() |
Quote:
Scrapper, Thanks for the clarification. I won't get my new books until the first week of October. For now I will have to wonder if the NFHS changed the wording of the actual rule or simply writing case plays that support the stance that Tony advocated. That being that the during a throw-in, during a jump ball, and defensive player are THE ONLY THREE times that an exception is granted. If that is the case, then it seems to me that they should have just kept the old wording. It was clearer. I also agree with Jurassic's point that the members of this discussion forum have once again caused the NFHS to issue a clarification. If we can keep having that kind of positive impact then we are not wasting our time. :) PS Congrats to BktBallRef for championing the position that the NFHS elected to support. ;) |
Quote:
At least that is how I now understand the rule after reading the new case play posted by Scrapper. |
I'm just happy I didn't chime in on the other thread (because I think I would've been wrong and ended up owing Bktballref $5).
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
On this deflected throw-in, is B1 still considered a defender or not? |
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Nevadaref In simpler terms what the NFHS is now telling us is that since this action does NOT take place (1) during a throw-in, (2) during a jump ball, or (3) by a defensive player (The last being because there is no clear offensive team or clear defensive team in this scenario.), the player is not granted an exception and thus this is a violation. At least that is how I now understand the rule after reading the new case play posted by Scrapper. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE> Quote:
JAR understands the basics of the backcourt rule. He is struggling to know when a play qualifies for the "defensive player" exception. Quote:
Perhaps they've decided that when one team has team control then the players on the other team are "defensive" players. Perhaps there can be "defensive" players during a throw-in even though there is no team control by definition because one team clearly has the ball. Perhaps not. Right now, I just don't know what to tell you. :( Perhaps Tony can provide the answer. He seems to know exactly what the NFHS is thinking on this backcourt stuff. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
When airborne A2 grabbed the deflected throw-in, that's when team A established player and team control, and that's also when team A became the offensive team and team B became the defensive team. Iow, deciding when or if B1 becomes a defender doesn't enter at all into the final call; it's simply not relevant when B1 becomes a defender. The only pertinent fact needed is that after gaining control, A2 did not meet the requirements of the exception listed in 9-9-3 and committed a violation. |
Quote:
For the purposes of this case play, I honestly don't know what the NFHS has in mind about when B1 becomes a defender. But in real life on the court, it just seems pretty obvious to me that the throw-in team is on offense and the other team is on defense. It just seems silly to say that they're not on defense until somebody from the throw-in team controls the ball inbounds. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So, I'd say it's "consistent" for B2 to be able to grab a tipped inbounds pass in the air and land in the BC without causing a violation. Of course, I'd say that *either team* should be able to recover an errant shot in the air without causing a BC violation as well (but that's not the rule). |
Well, I guess this clears it all up then. It's obvious from this that the committee intends the parenthetical statement in this rule to be all-inclusive rather than merely providing examples. I stand corrected.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
We may be the only people who debate what the rule used to be after it's been changed. :p
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm. |