The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in/Traveling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38044-throw-traveling.html)

IchiRef Wed Sep 05, 2007 03:05pm

Throw-in/Traveling

Long-time reader, first time poster... I am a sophomore official and i have a couple of question about some situations:

1) a player dives at a loose ball and his momentum causes him to slide a across the floor. This is legal, correct?

2) a player who is lying on their back with the ball may sit up legally, correct?

3) I saw this many times last year and it seems a little fishy to me. A1 is inbounding the ball to A2. A1 uses a bounce pass which, on its way to A2 bounces either out of bounds or on the line (which I believe is the same as out of bounds) violation?

Thanks for your help.

JRutledge Wed Sep 05, 2007 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IchiRef
Long-time reader, first time poster... I am a sophomore official and i have a couple of question about some situations:

1) a player dives at a loose ball and his momentum causes him to slide a across the floor. This is legal, correct?

Completely legal. The only way it would be illegal is if the ball handler somehow flipped over or tried to get up. Sliding on the floor alone is not a violation of the rules.

Quote:

2) a player who is lying on their back with the ball may sit up legally, correct?

Legal. If you are talking about just sitting up and not trying to get completely off the floor.

Quote:

3) I saw this many times last year and it seems a little fishy to me. A1 is inbounding the ball to A2. A1 uses a bounce pass which, on its way to A2 bounces either out of bounds or on the line (which I believe is the same as out of bounds) violation?

This is a violation. You have to complete the pass without touching the out of bounds lines.

Peace

Lcubed48 Wed Sep 05, 2007 03:22pm

As a rising junior official, here are my answers.