The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Throw-in/Traveling

Long-time reader, first time poster... I am a sophomore official and i have a couple of question about some situations:

1) a player dives at a loose ball and his momentum causes him to slide a across the floor. This is legal, correct?

2) a player who is lying on their back with the ball may sit up legally, correct?

3) I saw this many times last year and it seems a little fishy to me. A1 is inbounding the ball to A2. A1 uses a bounce pass which, on its way to A2 bounces either out of bounds or on the line (which I believe is the same as out of bounds) violation?

Thanks for your help.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:13pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by IchiRef
Long-time reader, first time poster... I am a sophomore official and i have a couple of question about some situations:

1) a player dives at a loose ball and his momentum causes him to slide a across the floor. This is legal, correct?
Completely legal. The only way it would be illegal is if the ball handler somehow flipped over or tried to get up. Sliding on the floor alone is not a violation of the rules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IchiRef
2) a player who is lying on their back with the ball may sit up legally, correct?
Legal. If you are talking about just sitting up and not trying to get completely off the floor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IchiRef
3) I saw this many times last year and it seems a little fishy to me. A1 is inbounding the ball to A2. A1 uses a bounce pass which, on its way to A2 bounces either out of bounds or on the line (which I believe is the same as out of bounds) violation?
This is a violation. You have to complete the pass without touching the out of bounds lines.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 674
As a rising junior official, here are my answers.
1) legal play - there is no player control yet established so no violation.
2) legal play - A1 may sit up but he/she may not attempt to stand up.
3) illegal play - that's a violation - the throw in must be directly from OOB to IB.
Good questions BTW.
My rule/case books are not handy so I can't quote chapter and verse, but I'm sure that someone else will be posting that info for all to read.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
How many of you would call this third one?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
How many of you would call this third one?
In the games I ref, I have only seen this once and I called it. The A1 was on the sideline and threw the pass oob along the sideline with english so it spun back onto the playing area after the bounce. A2 had B2 boxed and it was an easy retrieve for him.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
How many of you would call this third one?
I probably will not make this call on the endline..
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
How many of you would call this third one?
I have called it and will call it again.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I have called it and will call it again.

Peace
I"ll call it if I see it, but I'm usually looking for contact on the floor, or thinking about the count, or checking the clock, or watching that sub that just walked to the table to be sure she stays there, or looking at the coach to see if he wants a TO or.... or.... or....
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:03pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I"ll call it if I see it, but I'm usually looking for contact on the floor, or thinking about the count, or checking the clock, or watching that sub that just walked to the table to be sure she stays there, or looking at the coach to see if he wants a TO or.... or.... or....
This is not an either/or situation. If I am the calling official I am going to watch the ball. If the ball ends up out of bounds, I have to now how it got there. The ball might touch another player before touching the line. You can watch both if you ask me. If you cannot watch both, you might be too close.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I"ll call it if I see it, but I'm usually looking for contact on the floor, or thinking about the count, or checking the clock, or watching that sub that just walked to the table to be sure she stays there, or looking at the coach to see if he wants a TO or.... or.... or....
Perhaps this explains why I have never seen this happen in any of my games. But I have not seen it in any game I have watched either.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:44pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I"ll call it if I see it, but I'm usually looking for contact on the floor, or thinking about the count, or checking the clock, or watching that sub that just walked to the table to be sure she stays there, or looking at the coach to see if he wants a TO or.... or.... or....
There was actually some talk about this not being called in the NCAA Final Four game. That Florida was not stepping OOB before inbounding the ball. They where moving so fast that I don't think they were getting their feet down before the release in. I believe this was the arguement.

So if you back the logic, don't look for trouble, I guess you don't have a call. However, if you are doing your job, you should be watching this. I am under the philosophy that college ball should be called correctly, so I would make the call, especially with a 10 or more point lead. Not that that has anything to do with it, but it makes the call go over a lot better while you're sending the message to get your feet down before the inbound.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
How many of you would call this third one?
Good question. I would call it, but I know some officials would pass on it. I had a similar situation at camp this summer. A1 while making his throw in barely but clearly steps on the OOB line. There was no press or pressure being applied on the play, but I make the call. The observer asks why. I simply answered that it's a violation. He gave me his take which I don't remember 'cuz I simply nodded OK and let it go.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:51pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lcubed48
Good question. I would call it, but I know some officials would pass on it. I had a similar situation at camp this summer. A1 while making his throw in barely but clearly steps on the OOB line. There was no press or pressure being applied on the play, but I make the call. The observer asks why. I simply answered that it's a violation. He gave me his take which I don't remember 'cuz I simply nodded OK and let it go.
Why would this be a violation...an in-bounder can step on the line all they want - it's still OOB...if they step OVER the line onto the in-bounds area, then we have a violation, but not just for stepping on the line...
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
Why would this be a violation...an in-bounder can step on the line all they want - it's still OOB...if they step OVER the line onto the in-bounds area, then we have a violation, but not just for stepping on the line...
OOPS! Thanks for catching my error. You are correct concerning my original post. I meant to write that the player did step OVER the line. The observer still gave me the talk for making the call.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 03:58pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lcubed48
Good question. I would call it, but I know some officials would pass on it. I had a similar situation at camp this summer. A1 while making his throw in barely but clearly steps on the OOB line. There was no press or pressure being applied on the play, but I make the call. The observer asks why. I simply answered that it's a violation. He gave me his take which I don't remember 'cuz I simply nodded OK and let it go.
Okay, here's the laymen version of the rule and what I know about it. The OOB line closest to the player standing OOB, is OOB. IOW'S, the inbounder can place his foot on the outside part of this boundary line (farest from the court) while inbounding and it not be a violation, assuming the OOB line is 2 inches wide. Reason, he's still OOB. The OOB line is OOB. Now if his foot touches the edge of the court, across the OOB line, that is a violation. However, I always thought the ball must be passed directly onto the court, no acceptions. If you throw the ball off the boundary line, violation.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOB Traveling nostalgiaguru Basketball 5 Tue Nov 07, 2006 04:11pm
Traveling actuary77 Basketball 3 Thu Oct 26, 2006 06:17am
traveling ? ctpfive Basketball 10 Fri Jan 06, 2006 08:56am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Traveling OB ? RefTip Basketball 15 Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1