![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course, "drops" is NOT one of the ways listed in 4-15-3 to start a dribble. (I've debated this before with BktBallRef as it applies to one of his backcourt scenarios.) However, 4.44.3 SitA (d) tells us that a dribble may be started in this manner as the ruling clearly states that this action is "a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor." |
Quote:
My point is that officiating of plays cannot be reduced to writing in a book. A living person must observe the action on the court and use quality judgment to make whatever decision is appropriate for the given situation. That is the art of officiating. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And I see that you've changed your cute l'il tag line to a possum and me also. Maybe you should change it to a possum and the <b>world</b> though. That's because the whole damn world disagrees with you. Don't let any of the above stop you though. Continue continuing. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
How'd that get there? I'm going back to the original quote. Gus and Woodrow shouldn't have to be dragged through all this mud. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I stutter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I thought I posted this yesterday, but now I can't find it. I asked our local commissioner, who is also our state rules interpreter, who was at one time on the NFHS rules committee, about this debate, and here's his reply.
A1 completes her dribble - drops the ball but does not touch it - legal - You could also rule that it was a bounce pass to a teammate or you could also rule a fumble. That seems pretty clear to me. It's not a dribble, unless she touches it again, after the bounce. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am. |