The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2000, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

Correct interpretation on #1 and #2, John, since in neither situation was it considered a shot (as you said). In the 3rd situation, though, the backboard of the opposing team is considered the same as the floor. So, if he "shot" it against the backboard, it is by rule the same as starting a dribble on the floor. If he catches it, his dribble is done and he can't dribble again. If he lets it bounce on the floor first, then continues dribbling it without grabbing it first, it is a legal dribble and he may continue up court. Can't say I've ever had that happen in one of my games, but it no doubt does happen once in a while.

Hmmm, now that I think of it, if he hasn't dribbled yet on that "airball" at the wrong basket, would that be considered the end of his dribble right then, but he could still pass? Or is it a violation for having touched the ball again before it hit the floor on that "dribble?" You guys with rules books at hand will have to comment on that one. :-)

[This message has been edited by Todd VandenAkker (edited February 04, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1