The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 17, 2002, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member

There seemed to be some good input from a couple other posts, on how best a coach, with questions or objections can effectively (read safely) communicate them to the referees. As a coach, I expect that I should be allowed during a game, at least a couple, contructive, answers or explanations, for calls I either missed or don't understand, all within reason. Yes, there's a lot of testosterone flying around out there, but if everyone is reasonable and in control, these asides can really serve to improve things all around. Communication is usually a good thing, setting aside the "Howlers" and the "unaproachables" for the momment.
Since this is an official's forum, how about some feedback on the limits or lengths officials goto when addressing coaches.

EG
Old Thu Jan 17, 2002, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member

IMO, ask questions when they can be answered. Don't yell a question when the Ref is chasing down a fast break, it won't work. Timeouts, Free throws, etc. During free throws, I will position myself by a coach if I think he is going to ask a question, if you see this take the opportunity.

Finally, there is no point in arguing with the ref, even if he says that the sky is yellow, you will get nowhere in arguing with him, and you will only create animosity (sp?) between you two. If you happen to be right, take the opportunity next time you see him at one of your games to say I wanted to discuss X with you.
Old Thu Jan 17, 2002, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Easy. I'll answer any reasonable question, but maybe not
at the time it's asked. If it's a weird play or situation
I'll go over & talk to you immediately or at the next dead
ball, unless it's a timeout when I'll wait for you to be