The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/37553-rule-question.html)

Kajun Ref N Texas Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:03am

Rule Question
 
B1 pushes A1 into A2 as A2 is in his habitual shooting motion, but has not yet released the ball. Does the foul make the ball dead immediately and therefore, no shot; or since A2 started his shooting motion, do we count the bucket and assess the foul? Is the answer different if A2 had released the ball?

JRutledge Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:09am

Continuous motion applies to any opponent fouling the team in possession of the ball. So yes you allow the shot to be completed and you award points accordingly.

If the ball is released you are not going to not allow the shot to be completed. The ball is not dead because of a foul after a released try. This applies even if A4 commits a foul.

Peace

Kajun Ref N Texas Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Continuous motion applies to any opponent fouling the team in possession of the ball. So yes you allow the shot to be completed and you award points accordingly.

If the ball is released you are not going to not allow the shot to be completed. The ball is not dead because of a foul after a released try. This applies even if A4 commits a foul.

Peace

Thanks.

This play can be seen on a front page ESPN.com video story on Donaghy entitled, "Details of Donaghy's inside job." It did appear that they counted the bucket.

JRutledge Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:35am

Understand that the NBA rules might be a little different. I am referring to NF/NCAA rules. I have no idea what the NBA rule may or may not be. I do not imagine this particular rule would be different, but anything is possible.

Peace

Kajun Ref N Texas Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Understand that the NBA rules might be a little different. I am referring to NF/NCAA rules. I have no idea what the NBA rule may or may not be. I do not imagine this particular rule would be different, but anything is possible.

Peace

Agreed. I really could care less about the NBA rules. I saw the play on the video and wondered to myself what the NFHS rule was.

Adam Wed Aug 15, 2007 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Thanks.

This play can be seen on a front page ESPN.com video story on Donaghy entitled, "Details of Donaghy's inside job." It did appear that they counted the bucket.

So, they got the play right, and ESPN is using it as evidence that he was on the take? I am so surprised.

question without seeing the play. Did the actual foul occur before the shooting motion started? It doesn't matter when A1 contacts A2, it only matters when B1 contacts A1 in relation to A2 starting his shooting motion.

JRutledge Wed Aug 15, 2007 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
So, they got the play right, and ESPN is using it as evidence that he was on the take? I am so surprised.

question without seeing the play. Did the actual foul occur before the shooting motion started? It doesn't matter when A1 contacts A2, it only matters when B1 contacts A1 in relation to A2 starting his shooting motion.

I do not know that this was used quite that way. I think they were showing plays where Donaghy involved. I did not think there was any implication that this particular play was involved in a betting scandal. This was one play in a montage of plays where they show Dongahy making a call or on an NBA Court. No different than when they talk about Barry Bonds and they show several no descriptive shots of Barry walking around or hitting a baseball or fielding a ground ball.

Peace

Nevadaref Wed Aug 15, 2007 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Continuous motion applies to any opponent fouling the team in possession of the ball. So yes you allow the shot to be completed and you award points accordingly.

If the ball is released you are <strike>not</strike> going to <strike>not</strike> allow the shot to be completed. The ball is not dead because of a foul after a released try. This applies even if A4 commits a foul.

Correct ruling, but the language is simpler this way. :)

Mark Padgett Wed Aug 15, 2007 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
when they talk about Barry Bonds and they show several no descriptive shots of Barry walking around

Don't you mean "waddling"? :D

btaylor64 Wed Aug 15, 2007 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Agreed. I really could care less about the NBA rules. I saw the play on the video and wondered to myself what the NFHS rule was.

The ruling for the NBA would be that B1 is assessed the foul and if the bucket goes, A1 will shoot 1 free throw and play off the miss.

I am wondering, as far as college and high school rules, who shoots the free throw(s) in this sitch or does the ball go out of bounds even after a make, or does the shooter go to the line for free throws?

This play happened in the first half (i think) of the SOCON Championship game and I think they let the shooter go to the free throw line.

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 15, 2007 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
I am wondering, as far as college and high school rules, who shoots the free throw(s) in this sitch or does the ball go out of bounds even after a make, or does the shooter go to the line for free throws?

The player fouled shoots the FT's if his team is in the bonus under both FED and NCAA rules. If they aren't in the bonus yet, then they would get the ball OOB for a throw-in at the closest spot to the foul, whether the shot was made or missed.

Nevadaref Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The player fouled shoots the FT's if his team is in the bonus under both FED and NCAA rules. If they aren't in the bonus yet, then they would get the ball OOB for a throw-in at the closest spot to the foul, whether the shot was made or missed.

But in the NBA the FOULED player goes to the line for a single FT even if his team is not yet in the penalty for the quarter. Yet another difference in the rule sets which confuses the spectators.

lmeadski Thu Aug 16, 2007 02:14pm

NFHS rules
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The player fouled shoots the FT's if his team is in the bonus under both FED and NCAA rules. If they aren't in the bonus yet, then they would get the ball OOB for a throw-in at the closest spot to the foul, whether the shot was made or missed.

Does continuous motion apply to high school? I don't recall it being mentioned in the NFHS rulebook...

Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 16, 2007 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmeadski
Does continuous motion apply to high school? I don't recall it being mentioned in the NFHS rulebook...

NFHS rule 6-7-7EXCEPTIONc and casebook plays 6.7COMMENT and 6.7C&D.

JRutledge Thu Aug 16, 2007 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmeadski
Does continuous motion apply to high school? I don't recall it being mentioned in the NFHS rulebook...

JR,

Why did you not give this definition reference?

Rule 4-11 is the actual definition of Continuous Motion.

Reading definitions is the most important thing any official should do. Every rule comes back to a definition.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1