![]() |
Rule Question
B1 pushes A1 into A2 as A2 is in his habitual shooting motion, but has not yet released the ball. Does the foul make the ball dead immediately and therefore, no shot; or since A2 started his shooting motion, do we count the bucket and assess the foul? Is the answer different if A2 had released the ball?
|
Continuous motion applies to any opponent fouling the team in possession of the ball. So yes you allow the shot to be completed and you award points accordingly.
If the ball is released you are not going to not allow the shot to be completed. The ball is not dead because of a foul after a released try. This applies even if A4 commits a foul. Peace |
Quote:
This play can be seen on a front page ESPN.com video story on Donaghy entitled, "Details of Donaghy's inside job." It did appear that they counted the bucket. |
Understand that the NBA rules might be a little different. I am referring to NF/NCAA rules. I have no idea what the NBA rule may or may not be. I do not imagine this particular rule would be different, but anything is possible.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
question without seeing the play. Did the actual foul occur before the shooting motion started? It doesn't matter when A1 contacts A2, it only matters when B1 contacts A1 in relation to A2 starting his shooting motion. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I am wondering, as far as college and high school rules, who shoots the free throw(s) in this sitch or does the ball go out of bounds even after a make, or does the shooter go to the line for free throws? This play happened in the first half (i think) of the SOCON Championship game and I think they let the shooter go to the free throw line. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
NFHS rules
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why did you not give this definition reference? Rule 4-11 is the actual definition of Continuous Motion. Reading definitions is the most important thing any official should do. Every rule comes back to a definition. Peace |
Thinking about this play...
If the ref thought that B pushed or bumped the non-shooter just to bump the shooter and stop the shot, could the ref call it intentional? Seems to me it's extremely unfair that that shot can be taken away, and the penalty is as if it wasn't on the shot. I mean if B fouls the shooter directly, shooter gets to shoot. So if the ref thought it was just a non-basketball play, so to speak, wouldn't it be reasonable to call it intentional? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Generally, if you think the player intentionally pushed his opponent, it's an intentional foul.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Jmo. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10pm. |