The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2000, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

I don't have the rule book location at hand, but this play is handled by the rule that says the thrower-in (or "inbounder") must throw the ball DIRECTLY onto the court. Since A's teammate was out-of-bounds, that was the same as the ball touching OOB first. So, since A1 failed to pass the ball directly onto the court for the throw-in, it was a violation. Team B gets the ball at the spot of the violation, which is on the baseline next to their basket. There might be a Casebook play that describes bringing the ball back to the spot of the throw-in if it wasn't touched, but regardless: If a violation occurred, the ball is always inbounded at the spot closest to the violation, which in this case is at the original throw-in spot.

[This message has been edited by Todd VandenAkker (edited February 03, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1