The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2002, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
This is only a T if A is still holding the ball. Once it is released toward the court on an inbounds, no T, even if it is still over the boundary.
Says who? I'm reading rule 10.3.12 that says a player should be T'd if (s)he reaches "through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touches....the ball...."

Doesn't say anything about the ball being released.

Of course, I'd probably be hesitant to call the T unless it's pretty obvious, but I think a stickler of the rules could have a point.
Right -- but 9-2-11 says "until the ball has been released"

So either one of the two rules is "Wrong" or it's a legal play that results in a T,

Like Crew's discussion on "inbounding the ball without going out of bounds first," this play has received much discussion over the years. Still waiting for the FED to clarify it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1