The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2002, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by chayce
We have discussed this topic several times in our Association meetings and we have all agreed to give the inbounding time the right to run the baseline when team b deflects the ball oob on the endline.

The NFHS rulebook is very plain in identifying a ball deflected oob as a violation. If the ball went oob on the sideline it would be a designated spot throw-in. If the ball goes oob on the endline, team A still gets the baseline. It may not seem fair, but that is the rule.
No, it isn't the rule. Your association is misinterpreting the rule.

The throw-in ends when a player touches the ball inbounds.
Simply deflecting the pass is not a violation.
The throw-in ended on the deflection .
The violation doesn't occur until the ball goes OOB.
Therefore, we have a spot throw-in.

If the ball is kicked or B1 is touching OOB, then the violation occurs, simultaneous with the touch. That's the difference.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1