The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2002, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by chayce
We have discussed this topic several times in our Association meetings and we have all agreed to give the inbounding time the right to run the baseline when team b deflects the ball oob on the endline.

The NFHS rulebook is very plain in identifying a ball deflected oob as a violation. If the ball went oob on the sideline it would be a designated spot throw-in. If the ball goes oob on the endline, team A still gets the baseline. It may not seem fair, but that is the rule.
Chayce -

we had a rather lengthy discussion about this rule at our first meeting back in early November, such that our rules interpretor went to the state to ask for an official interpretation. If you officiate in the state of Texas (H.S.) the official interpretation is that the team does not retain the right to run the endline after Team B deflects the pass OOB.

and, may i add, that i really like Mark D's explanation for why that state ruling is correct.

jake
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1