![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
By the same token, keep changing the rules, and the game won't be the same anymore. The "word scholar" bs as you call it, is our efforts to care about the game by carefully keeping the rules consistent. When YOU decide to do things YOUR way, it's YOU that aren't caring about the game. The game IS the rules. |
Okay, let me try it this way. In the beginning of the game before the AP arrow is set we jump the ball. Beep, before the toss we got a violation. Team A receives possesion of the ball. Once the ball becomes live, the arrow is pointed to Team B. Now, let's say for argument sake that before the ball became live, we had a kick ball violation on Team B. AP arrow not set. Who gets the arrow now? Still, team B because A gets the ball from the violation of the jump.
Officials have argued that what you call (foul) in the beginning of the game, you call it the same in the end. Well, that is not the case here. To start the game, we set the arrow but we don't do that in the middle or the end of the game. We wait until something after the fact happens. That is not the original intent of the AP arrow, imho. |
Quote:
At least you're the one calling yourself a "nobody" this time. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why do you keep trying? |
OS
There is no word smithing going on here - and it is not BS it is the RULE - To address your point - That the arrow grant possession only - fine - But should I lose that possession because of something the other team did? That puts me at the disadvantage. Example: Team A is awarded an AP throw in late in a very close game, with the ball at the disposal of the thrower - NCAA = team control -(so under your scenario the arrow changes) Now B1 reaches in and slaps the ball away from A1, -loss of team control - technical foul. Shoot two free throws - Under NCAA you would go to point of interuption which was - AP throw in - correct- so now the arrow has changed to B so it is Team B ball - if you give the Ball to Team A it would be because the Throw in was not completed. |
Quote:
|
The AP throw-in that never ends ... Sounds like a Twilight Zone episode.
|
Quote:
"Beep, before the toss we got a violation." Please explain exactly what violation can occur before the ball becomes live to start the game. "Now, let's say for argument sake that before the ball became live, we had a kick ball violation on Team B." Please explain exactly how can we have a kicked ball before the ball becomes live. Once again, we're all dumber from having read an OS post. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...s/banghead.gif |
I was so stunned by the stupidity of OS' post above that I replied without readibng the other responses. I'm so glad that others recognized the stupidity as quickly as I did>
|
Quote:
When the referee is ready and until the ball is tossed, nonjumpers shall not: a. Move onto the center restraining circle b. Change positions around the center restraining circle nfhs 6.2 The ball becomes live when a. On a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the referee's hand(s) NCAA 6.4.8 and 6.1.4a similar Just sayin ;) |
OS disapeared?
Was he blinded by the rules!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm intrigued by the concept that Dan puts up, that a violation can be committed before the ball is live. Is this the only case? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm. |