The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double number change (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/35457-double-number-change.html)

Mark Padgett Thu Jun 07, 2007 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The last I heard he was still living under a bridge up around Springfield, and working as a doorstop.


I heard he is the new night manager at Dieblerburger. Last week he gave a technical to some customer who didn't have exact change and ejected a kid who was trying to use an expired coupon! :eek:

Nevadaref Thu Jun 07, 2007 08:40pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Ch1town
Would both players be ejected for flagrants technicals regardless of how many player fouls they had accumulated?
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Judgment call. I agree that you can certainly make up a good justification for flagrant technical fouls against both players in this particular case.

Nope. This time you completely screwed it. :D (Glad I'm not the only one on here who makes a mistake from time to time.)
It is not a judgment call at all. It plainly says right there in the book that it is a flagrant foul. Ch1town is right.

Rule 10
SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 1 . . . Participate after changing his/her number without reporting it to the scorer and an official.
PENALTY: (Art. 1) Flagrant foul. Penalized if discovered while being violated.

Nevadaref Thu Jun 07, 2007 08:42pm

BTW there is no penalty to the Head Coach according the chart on page 73.

sseltser Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:05pm

What happens when only one of the player starts the second half? So: A1 has 4 PF and A2 has 1 PF. A1 enters the game wearing #2 to start the 2nd half. Is there no penalty for A2 when he tries to enter midway through the 3rd quarter, assuming he changes into his normal jersey (and that he doesn't remove his jersey in the area of the playing court)?

Mark Dexter Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser
What happens when only one of the player starts the second half? So: A1 has 4 PF and A2 has 1 PF. A1 enters the game wearing #2 to start the 2nd half. Is there no penalty for A2 when he tries to enter midway through the 3rd quarter, assuming he changes into his normal jersey (and that he doesn't remove his jersey in the area of the playing court)?

Not unless you consider the jersey switcheroo to be "unsporting conduct" - then you T up A2 while on the bench AND the coach gets an indirect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1