The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double number change (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/35457-double-number-change.html)

hbioteach Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:57am

Double number change
 
I got this question from a coach. I did not work this game.
Player A1 had 4 fouls and player A2 has 1 foul at the end of the 1st half.
A1 and A2 switch jerseys at the half.

A1 and A2 enter the game to start the second half.
What do you have?

Certainly, technical foul on a1 and a2.

Do you T the coach?
Do you toss the coach?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:13am

A1 & A2 both get "T"s under R10-3-1. That's A1's fifth foul--> buh-bye.

If I <b>know</b> for sure that the coach told the players to switch numbers, I'd call a flagrant technical foul on the jerk. If I'm not sure, the head coach is still gonna get a direct "T" under R10-4. All players are bench personnel during the half, and the head coach is responsible for their behavior.

M&M Guy Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
A1 & A2 both get "T"s under R10-3-1. That's A1's fifth foul--> buh-bye.

If I <b>know</b> for sure that the coach told the players to switch numbers, I'd call a flagrant technical foul on the jerk. If I'm not sure, the head coach is still gonna get a direct "T" under R10-4. All players are bench personnel during the half, and the head coach is responsible for their behavior.

I agree with your penalties on the players, but wouldn't the head coach get 2 indirects?

Ch1town Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:30am

Would both players be ejected for flagrants technicals regardless of how many player fouls they had accumulated?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree with your penalties on the players, but wouldn't the head coach get 2 indirects?

A1 & A2 entered the game to start the second half. That's when the number switch was discovered. They're no longer bench personnel, they're players. The head coach no longer has the responsibility for their actions.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Would both players be ejected for flagrants technicals regardless of how many player fouls they had accumulated?

Judgment call. I agree that you can certainly make up a good justification for flagrant technical fouls against both players in this particular case.

M&M Guy Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
A1 & A2 entered the game to start the second half. That's when the number switch was discovered. They're no longer bench personnel, they're players. The head coach no longer has the responsibility for their actions.

I'm just trying to figure out the justification for giving the HC anything. If the 2 players did it during halftime, they are considered bench personnel, so I would think the HC would get 2 indirect as a result. If they are discovered during the game, then how do we give the HC a T? (Granted, if we know for sure the HC had anything to do with it, I can see T, perhaps flagrant.)

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'm just trying to figure out the justification for giving the HC anything. If the 2 players did it during halftime, they are considered bench personnel, so I would think the HC would get 2 indirect as a result. If they are discovered during the game, then how do we give the HC a T? (Granted, if we know for sure the HC had anything to do with it, I can see T, perhaps flagrant.)

The penalty for "T"s called under R10-3 doesn't include an indirect "T" on a head coach. I wouldn't give out anything under R10-1-2 because that would only be <b>one</b> team technical foul charged, and that isn't penalty enough for what the l'il sh!ts tried to do. They both committed an unsporting act, and both should be punished equally.

The language at the front of 10-4 is good enough for me....."The head coach is responsible for the conduct and behavior of....all other bench personnel." No way I'm letting him skate. If he didn't know what his players were trying to do, then he should have. The only question imo is whether he's gonna get a flagrant "T" or simply a direct "T".

M&M Guy Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The penalty for "T"s called under R10-3 doesn't include an indirect "T" on a head coach. I wouldn't give out anything under R10-1-2 because that would only be <b>one</b> team technical foul charged, and that isn't penalty enough for what the l'il sh!ts tried to do. They both committed an unsporting act, and both should be punished equally.

The language at the front of 10-4 is good enough for me....."The head coach is responsible for the conduct and behavior of....all other bench personnel." No way I'm letting him skate. If he didn't know what his players were trying to do, then he should have. The only question imo is whether he's gonna get a flagrant "T" or simply a direct "T".

That's why I'm asking - if you use 10-4, then aren't you calling the players bench personnel? If so, then the HC gets 2 indirects, one for each of the players. If you give the players the T's based on 10-3, then I'm not sure I can justify giving the coach another, unless I know for sure they had any direct involvement in changing the jerseys.

Zoochy Thu Jun 07, 2007 04:19pm

You can't just 'T' teammates for changing shirts? Can you? They have to become a player to activate the rule.
I'll go look at the rules later tonight.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
You can't just 'T' teammates for changing shirts? Can you? They have to become a player to activate the rule.
I'll go look at the rules later tonight.

According to the original post, Zooch, the shirt-switch was discovered when the teammates entered the game at the start of the second half. That would make them "players".

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
- if you use 10-4, then aren't you calling the players bench personnel? If so, then the HC gets 2 indirects, one for each of the players. If you give the players the T's based on 10-3, then I'm not sure I can justify giving the coach another, unless I know for sure they had any direct involvement in changing the jerseys.

The "bench personnel" did not commit their technical fouls during the half. Their technical fouls occurred when they entered the game and became players. No entry = no technical fouls.

If it will make you feel better(not that I really give a sh!t:D ), use R10-4-1 and say that the head coach committed an unsporting fall that falls into the open "includes but not limited to" category. Give him a regular ol' direct "T" just for being too damn stoopid to know what his players are doing. Or, if you feel sorry for him because you're a nice guy like that l'il Chuck fella that useta hang out here, then let him skate. It's a judgment call anyway on the head coach.

Remember.....contrary to what Old School preaches, the rules <b>can</b> be your friend!

M&M Guy Thu Jun 07, 2007 05:00pm

Ahh...I feel better now. :D

Dan_ref Thu Jun 07, 2007 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Or, if you feel sorry for him because you're a nice guy like that l'il Chuck fella that useta hang out here, then let him skate.

I miss that little guy, wonder what ever happened to him.

Any truth to the rumor he got chased up a tree by a cat and starved to death?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 07, 2007 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I miss that little guy, wonder what ever happened to him.

Any truth to the rumor he got chased up a tree by a cat and starved to death?

The last I heard he was still living under a bridge up around Springfield, and working as a doorstop.

Mark Padgett Thu Jun 07, 2007 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The last I heard he was still living under a bridge up around Springfield, and working as a doorstop.


I heard he is the new night manager at Dieblerburger. Last week he gave a technical to some customer who didn't have exact change and ejected a kid who was trying to use an expired coupon! :eek:

Nevadaref Thu Jun 07, 2007 08:40pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Ch1town
Would both players be ejected for flagrants technicals regardless of how many player fouls they had accumulated?
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Judgment call. I agree that you can certainly make up a good justification for flagrant technical fouls against both players in this particular case.

Nope. This time you completely screwed it. :D (Glad I'm not the only one on here who makes a mistake from time to time.)
It is not a judgment call at all. It plainly says right there in the book that it is a flagrant foul. Ch1town is right.

Rule 10
SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 1 . . . Participate after changing his/her number without reporting it to the scorer and an official.
PENALTY: (Art. 1) Flagrant foul. Penalized if discovered while being violated.

Nevadaref Thu Jun 07, 2007 08:42pm

BTW there is no penalty to the Head Coach according the chart on page 73.

sseltser Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:05pm

What happens when only one of the player starts the second half? So: A1 has 4 PF and A2 has 1 PF. A1 enters the game wearing #2 to start the 2nd half. Is there no penalty for A2 when he tries to enter midway through the 3rd quarter, assuming he changes into his normal jersey (and that he doesn't remove his jersey in the area of the playing court)?

Mark Dexter Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser
What happens when only one of the player starts the second half? So: A1 has 4 PF and A2 has 1 PF. A1 enters the game wearing #2 to start the 2nd half. Is there no penalty for A2 when he tries to enter midway through the 3rd quarter, assuming he changes into his normal jersey (and that he doesn't remove his jersey in the area of the playing court)?

Not unless you consider the jersey switcheroo to be "unsporting conduct" - then you T up A2 while on the bench AND the coach gets an indirect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1