The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 23, 2001, 03:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
nc2a 4-4.8.7
b1 is standing standing directly under the basket before a1 jumps for the layup. the forward momentum of airborn shooter a1 causes a1 to run into b1. RULING: b1 is not in legal guarding position. blocking foul on b1. (women)

though this is for the womens game it is taught at mens camps as well. it is good practice to call this a defensive foul. though you do not have to call the game as i do.
Crew,the women's NC2A rule that you quoted is being disputed.That was a topic on other threads both here and on another board.This rule was a re-write of the WNBA rule,and it was put in by a non-official.That's the way I understand it,anyway.There are absolutely no rules in men's NCAA and Fed that can back up your original claim.On the contrary,they both list situations where a player control or charge foul is the correct call.I will also state that the concept you put forth is not taught at any camp for NCAA or Fed officials,because it is completely contrary to the written rules.It is an absolutely idiotic practice to call this a defensive foul at any level under the NBA.That is my opinion!You are right though,in that you can call it anyway YOU want.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 23rd, 2001 at 02:31 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1